Back to KL on this long weekend to attend my sister’s house-warming party.


Before all else, let me take this opportunity to wish ‘Selamat Hari Raya Haji’ to all my Muslim friends! As one of the two main Islamic holidays, the day is also observed as a public holiday in Singapore, a country that is known for having very little number of public holidays. Thanks to the festival that falls on Monday this year, we all got to enjoy a long weekend!

I of course made my way back to KL for the long weekend to spend quality time with my family and also to attend my eldest sister’s house-warming party which was yesterday (Sunday, 16th June 2024). She and her family moved into this new huge double-storey house at Kajang and got it all renovated and fully furnished right before the big day. Yesterday was chosen as the day of moving in as it was an auspicious day as advised by fengshui master.

It’s quite rare to have events that could bring all family members, relatives and friends together and hence I do try not to miss any of that despite me being away at Singapore for work. Furthermore, it is my sister’s big day and hence I have to be present. It’s good to see all the relatives that I have not met for a very long time. I had been constantly approached by them during the party for little chats. I’m getting popular. Haha…that’s actually because they could only see me for like once or at most twice a year.

I also lend a little hand to assist my sister during the party that saw over 120 guests coming. In between, I went for 3 plates of meal for the evening from the hired buffet catering and then played rummy with relatives before and after dinner when there are enough ‘kakis’ (players). Ended up staying there for almost 10 hours and left her house only at 12am.

I came back to Singapore this afternoon by flight and still have some time left of the weekend for me to rest. Today feels more like a Sunday to me. Haha…we have a shorter work week ahead but it’s going to be a very busy one for me. A lot of pending and urgent tasks and I only have a pair of hands. Just let it flow and see how it goes. Won’t let stress overwhelms me.