Hari Raya Aidilfitri on midweek this year and…I bought myself a fish as pet!


Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to all my Muslim friends! May the joy of this festive season light your life with love, peace, and hope. Have a warm and joyous celebration with your loved ones! I always admire the utmost dedication of the Muslims to fast for not only a day or two, but for an entire Ramadan month before Raya.

(Image source: Aiman from http://www.notaria.my)

We only have one day of public holiday for this festival in Singapore (while Malaysia is enjoying two). Hence, we will be back to work tomorrow. That’s ok; at least we have a day off in the middle of the week (making this a less stressful week…haha) and only got to work for two more days and it’s weekend! And this weekend, I’ve got to make a quick trip to KL to pay an annual visit to my grandparents’ and my mom’s graves for the Qing Ming Festival.

And yup…as the post’s title had already revealed; I bought myself a fish as a pet. I suddenly have this urge or passion recently to own a small desktop aquarium tank in my bedroom in Singapore. I immediately explored on products available in Shopee, purchased one and it came 2 days right after my order (that’s very quick!). The small tank also comes with rock white sands, white LED light, seashells and an artificial plant for tank decorations. It only costs me SGD12+ (inclusive of a small bag of fish food and a mini water changer too).

I went to a small aquarium shop near my house early today and look for a Betta fish. The one I chosen is a male, very colourful, has beautiful fins and is particularly active (kept swimming around in its jar). I’m getting you a new home! It only costs SGD15 for the fish and I bought additional fish pellets there for SGD2. I’m calling my new pet fish ‘Chips’ after a quick browse online searching for interesting and simple names for pet fish. Revealing Chips below…;

Currently, the desktop tank is quite small but I assume it’s sufficient to house one small Betta fish (it is at least larger than the jar it is housed in at the aquarium shop). May opt for a slightly larger tank for it in near future. Chips, I hope you enjoy staying in your new home with me. Haha…As this will be my first time taking care of a fish, so I’m a little worried. Anyway, Betta fish are one of the most low maintenance fish you can have as a pet, as they do not require a lot of space, equipment, or attention. So…I think it should be ok.