Weekend with durian, movie and music all by myself!


I have spent this weekend all by myself and there’s fun in it too. Besides than giving the time just to myself without being bothered by anyone else, I also got to enjoy the things I like to do in this last weekend of July. Sometimes, it is just right to spend some quality time alone.

It looks like durian season is coming to an end and hence I will not miss the chance to treat myself with the king of fruit. I treated myself yesterday two XO durians that cost 30 dollars in total. I just love it; its creamy texture and the mix of sweet and bitter taste are so mouth-watering. I usually have them on weekend as to avoid speaking to my colleagues and boss on weekdays with bad breath. Haha…its smell is really very strong and that’s why this fruit is highly controversial.

For me, a weekend feels incomplete without a movie. Although ‘Toy Story 4’ has been out in cinemas for quite some time now, I only managed to watch it just today. ‘Toy Story 3’ that was released 9 years ago is already a remarkable way to end this film series and everyone felt that it is not necessary for another ‘Toy Story’ films (me included). However, ‘Toy Story 4’ surprised us all with yet another brilliant addition to this film series that has accompanied a lot of kids for years till now when they have all grown up.

There is so much emotion in ‘Toy Story 3’ and in this latest sequel, we saw a similar parting moment again between the main characters (a little spoiler here) at the end of the movie. ‘Toy Story 4’ delivered yet again with its humor (had some great laughs and fun…the new character, Forky is really hilarious) and emotion. The vocal performances are top-notch and the animation do look marvelous too. It’s hard for a sequel to work well especially after an impressive conclusion in the third film and yet ‘Toy Story 4’ defies that. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Toy Story 4’ a total of 8.6. A highly enjoyable, entertaining, fun, and moving film. This is so far the best animated film of the year. So far, the film has grossed US$ 870 million worldwide and I hope it will go over t-billion dollar milestone.

Recently, I have been actively following the development of Sammi Cheng’s Follow Mi concert tour in Hong Kong (if you do not know her; she is a famous Hong Kong singer and is regarded as a Cantopop queen). Although I am not in Hong Kong personally to watch her show (she held 13 shows at Hong Kong Coliseum which ended last night), but I do watch a lot of her performances recorded by some kind audiences and uploaded to Youtube recently. She tried on some new directions in this concert (her 10th concert tour at Hong Kong Coliseum and she had also break past her 100th show at that venue) and I love it. Some of the guest artists that she had invited in her 13 shows are Kelly Chen, Sally Yip, Kay Tse, Candy Lo, Karen Mok, Louis Koo, Joyce Cheng, Jackson Wang, Gigi Leung, Amanda Lee, Coco Lee, etc). Her new song (We Grew Up The Same Way) is particularly meaningful and beautiful and I love it so much that I kept repeating the song from day to night whenever I’m listening to music nowadays.

Too bad that I’m not in Hong Kong to watch her show (it’s super hard to buy her concert ticket) and it also looks like it’s not the good timing for tourists to visit Hong Kong now due to the never ending protests that happened currently (Hong Kongers protesting against the extradition bill and the interference of mainland China on Hong Kong’s own different governing policies). Anway, I do hope that she will come to perform at Malaysia or Singapore very soon and I will not certainly miss it. She’s my no.1 favourite singer to listen to.

Alright, that’s it for my last post of the month (most probably). Can’t wait for this long month to end and can’t wait for the holidays in August (National Day and Hari Raya Haji for a long weekend break).

(Images in this post are from various online sources)