Movie review: Fast and Furious 6 (2013)


‘Fast and Furious’ franchise which is a series of action films centers on illegal street racing and heists had come this far, to the release of its latest sixth instalment recently. Fast and Furious 6 follows a professional criminal gang led by Toretto who have retired following their successful heist previously, but remain wanted fugitives. A cop then offers to clear the group’s criminal records and allow them to return home in exchange for helping him to take down a skilled mercenary organization led by Shaw and his second in command, Toretto’s presumed-dead lover Letty. The film stars Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Dwayne Johnson, Jordana Brewster, Tyrese Gibson, Michelle Rodriguez, Sung Kang, Chris Bridges, Luke Evans, Gina Carano, and John Ortiz (to name a few).

Fast-and-furious-6-movie

I thoroughly enjoy this film as the director, Justin Lin had maintained to have the story carried out in a much more action-oriented direction as usual. Well, it is the action involving those fascinating cars on roads that appeal much successful to audiences now, and he did that right. There is whole lot of amount of action-packed scenes in this movie, racing your heart out as you watch, as some intense moments are very exciting yet quite unbelievable to a certain extent from this film. Well, film can go for anything, eventhough it’s a bit too exaggerated. Well, that’s the ‘wow’ factor we can observe from this.

movies-fast-and-furious-6-5

The story which continues from Fast Five goes very smooth and well in this one, which now takes place mostly in London (Fast Five was in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil). However, I find there is too much emphasis on Letty, on which there are too many scenes involving of how she get into the villain side this time, and how she finally reunited back with Toretto’s group. It would be better if her parts are cut short a bit. Let’s get back to the action sequences. All that are brilliantly delivered in this story eventhough some are too unbelievably risky to the characters. Well, when there is no risk, there would be no heartstopping moments. So, I have to say this movie seriously performs well in terms of its action approach. And when such film is good in action, then it succeeds.

Fast_Furious6

This time, its encounter between a group of criminal (good side) against another group of criminal (bad side). It’s like fighting your evil twins using racing talents, attack weapons, and crazy tactics each side has. That’s interesting. The performance by the casts are solid, which is expected since the casts have done all these similarly so many times in previous instalments already. However, I can assure you that the actions now in this film are much climax-reaching and crazier. It’s a fun ride watching this. There is street racing (of course), gun attacks, fighting sequences, then comes also clash between cars and destroyer tanks, and finally the ending part that involves a huge plane as well. (sorry for a bit of spoiler here)

I am enjoying it generally. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Fast and Furious 6’ a total of 7.7. A great action-packed film. Ohh, there is an extra scene in the middle of end-credit. So, stay a while to wait for it which indicates the possibility of another sequel and how the whole flow of these six instalments works (didn’t understand my point, watch it to find it out). And yes, it’s confirmed that there would be Fast and Furious 7 which is predicted to be released next year. Wow, that is fast too! I think this franchise is getting much more popular compared to the release of its previous five instalments. This ‘Fast and Furious 6’ is going to gain a lot in box office.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

7 thoughts on “Movie review: Fast and Furious 6 (2013)

  1. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted
    to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write once more soon!

  2. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than three hours lately, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the net might be much more helpful than ever before.

  3. Hi. I’m looking for a blog where I can ask painfully basic questions since I am brand new to Dreamweaver. Is this a good place? I have Dreamweaver for Dummies and tv.adobe.com to help me. When I am defining a site in the very beginning, may I save everything to a network folder instead of to my hard drive? Our network is backed up nightly, while the desktops in our office are questionable at best. Thank you for your advice (or for pointing me in a direction where I might find some). -Paige

Leave a comment