World’s most famous landmarks?


The world we lived in has been much more amazing due to presence of many impressive and beautiful structures human beings had ever build. These structures which are easily recognizable worldwide are regarded as landmarks and each is usually made an icon or symbol of the respective country where it is located. Some of them had been here for at least few thousand years, while some that made it to this kind of recognition have only been built not long ago and yet still reached out to immense global fame.

landmarks01

I believe everyone had their own list of world’s most famous landmarks. It’s quite subjective. It depends on every individual’s different background and their level of exposure to the world. But the landmarks that I’m going to list down here would most probably make it to your list too. Here listed is my top 10 list of world’s most famous landmarks.

1. Eiffel Tower, Paris, France. *

2. Great Pyramid of Giza, Cairo, Egypt.

3. Statue of Liberty, New York, United States of America.

4. Empire State Building, New York, United States of America.

5. Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, United States of America.

6. Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia.

7. Big Ben Tower, London, United Kingdom. *

8. Great Wall of China, China. *

9. Leaning Tower of Pisa, Pisa, Italy. *

10. Taj Mahal, India. *

Out of the 10 places listed above, I have visited 5 (the one I bookmarked). Half. Not bad. I love to travel overseas as there are too many exciting and interesting new things out there for me to discover, experience and enjoy. The remaining 5 would be my top priority whenever I had the opportunity to make decision on where to go for oversea trip in future. There are still 10 structures in my mind that could make it to the list;

11. Angkor Wat, Cambodia. *

12. Forbidden City, Beijing, China. *

13. Burj Khalifa, Dubai, United Arab Emirates. *

14. Acropolis, Athens, Greece.

15. Stonehenge, Wiltshire, United Kingdom.

16. Colosseum, Rome, Italy. *

17. Statue of Christ, The Redeemer.

18. London Bridge Tower, London, United Kingdom. *

19. White House, Washington, United States of America.

20. Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. *

stock-footage-famous-world-landmarks

Same. The ones bookmarked are landmarks that I have visited. Maybe for Burj Khalifa, it’s not counted because I only managed to see it from far (viewing it from the airport during transfer flight). Of course, the last on the list is something I see everyday, as it’s only few kilometres away from my home. I have to say the Petronas Twin Towers’ impressive architecture really make it stands out among many other skyscrapers in the world. Another ten (it seems I couldn’t stop); Hollywood sign (Los Angeles, USA), St. Peter’s Basilica (Vatican City), Buckingham Palace (London, UK), CN Tower (Toronto, Canada), Chrysler Building (New York, USA), Beijing Bational Stadium (Beijing, China), Burj al Arab (Dubai, UAE), Mount Rushmore National Memorial (South Dakota, USA), Arch de Triomphe (Paris, France), Bank of China Tower (Hong Kong, China). These landmarks I mentioned here would usually be having a lot of their replicas built particularly in theme parks too. It is because they are easily identifiable. Landmarks, man!

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a comment