KLCC and its surrounding.


Yesterday I went to Suria KLCC, which is one of the malls I least visited in Kuala Lumpur. Reason? Expensive parking fees and not many good places to dine in the mall as compared to other nearby malls particularly in Bukit Bintang region like Pavilion KL and Berjaya Times Square. Besides than having a dinner, watching a movie, and reading architecture books at Kinokuniya bookstore, I also took the very seldom opportunity I have to walk around Petronas Twin Towers and its surrounding.

Why? That’s my favourite part. I got to observe the many cluster of buildings nearby there and analyse their design. Sounds so professional. Haha…It’s just my interest to look at buildings since architecture has been part of my life for several years already. Have you checked out my previous blog’s post here that Petronas Twin Towers are no doubt one of the world’s most famous landmarks (perhaps in top 20). Many people would love to see it, and I got to see it everyday since it’s only few kilometres away from my home. But we, locals, usually seldom take pictures of things we see in common here.

That’s not the case for me yesterday. I observed quite a wonderful surrounding of the KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Centre) region with skyscrapers and parks and so I took some photographs, acting like I was one of the tourists. There are quite a number of new buildings constructed surrounding KLCC especially luxurious apartment buildings and some other buildings in construction which made the built environment a bit much denser which is good as a sign of the city developing. Nevertheless, the KLCC park still remains as a vital green ‘heart’ of the capital city. Enjoy the breathtaking pictures I took yesterday;

IMG_0172

 

(View from KLCC Park – you can see Citibank Tower, Troika Tower (current tallest residential building in Malaysia designed by Norman Foster), PNB Tower, The Oval Residence, and newly-built Felda Tower)

IMG_0181

 

(View from KLCC Park to the newly-built Petronas Tower 3, Petronas Twin Towers which are former world’s tallest buildings and still the current world’s tallest twin buildings, and Maxis Tower)

 

IMG_0179

 

IMG_0174

 

IMG_0175

The one that got my attention the most during the short walk-around I had yesterday is a surprisingly quick construction of a twin residential buildings right besides the Petronas Twin Towers and the K Residence Tower (as shown in last image above). After a further research of the project, I found out that the twin-tower complex is designed by famous foreign architect, Jean Nouvel and both the towers are going to be 49 and 43 storeys high respectively. The two towers are now rising tall to be the new companion of the iconic Petronas Twin Towers. I’m also glad that there are more and more involvement of famous international architects into new projects here in Kuala Lumpur.

(The images in this post are my own property. Kindly acknowledge me and reference it if you wish to re-use one or all of the images on other sites.) 

13 Responses to “KLCC and its surrounding.”

  1. Hey there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely
    digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident
    they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  2. simo sb

  3. john smith Says:

    well done great article

  4. Hey there really good job

  5. muhammad nur alif Says:

    we can have fun at KLCC if we like the place

  6. chloeang13 Says:

    CHLOE IN THE HOUSE!!!

  7. chloeang13 Says:

    hi SERIN IN THE HOUSE

  8. barelywai Says:

    Hey Vincent. Nice recent photos of Kuala Lumpur. Even Petronas Tower 3 is included. Haha. Check out my photos along Jalan Tun Razak as well. Here’s the link. http://shootkl.com/jalan-tun-razak-kuala-lumpur/

    • vincentloy Says:

      Nice photos, barelywai. Thanks for sharing.

      • barelywai Says:

        Thanks Vincent. Would appreciate if you could follow the shootKL.com photoblog as I’ll be updating my life as a photographer, entrepreneur, and fashionista. Haha. 🙂

  9. good scenery :]

Leave a Reply

