Brief return to KL this weekend for Qing Ming Festival.


I am back to KL for the weekend. There’s a couple of things I’ve got to do in this brief return trip. I didn’t take any annual leave (don’t have much left and got to save them especially for my company trip and trip to Hong Kong on this coming July) and hence it will be a very rushed travel back to KL this time. It has been quite a while too since I last went back home; which was during Chinese New Year holiday early this year.

Reached home on Friday’s late night after a faster-than-usual AirAsia flight from Singapore. The flight will usually takes 45 minutes but it took only half an hour that day (I guess the pilot is rushing to be back home in KL). Went out to my sister’s salon to get a haircut on Saturday’s morning. Then, I brought my young nephew for lunch and subsequently bought the necessary prayer items for ritual offerings to my grandparents and mom tomorrow.

Had some free time and played rummy with family in the afternoon (and then again for a short while after dinner). It is my favourite pastime with my family. And since it was my dad’s birthday end of last month (and I was not in KL back then), me and sister brought my dad to a buffet dinner at Jogoya Buffet Restaurant at Starhill KL that evening as a belated birthday treat for him. Hasn’t been there for quite a long time by the way. The food were great and I took a lot of plates. The price is a little expensive though; at RM198++ per adult during this Raya festive season. I was so full after the meal.

Woke up super early today at 6am (the Sun isn’t even up yet) to accompany my dad to the neighbourhood market to buy some stuff for the ritual offerings and also breakfast for ourselves. Once my eldest sister’s family and my uncle joined us at our home, we then proceed to the Nirvana Memorial Park (at Semenyih) for the Qing Ming Festival. Today is the last day of the festival and hence we observed much fewer people visiting the memorial park today (which is very good; no crowd and most importantly, no traffic congestion at all leading to the memorial park which is a common and a frustrating sight every year). Reached there at around 8am.

Visited my grandparents’ gravesite first and then to my mom’s gravesite. We finished all the necessary ritual offerings, tomb sweeping and chit-chatting (haha…) a little after 10am. We then went to a seafood restaurant at Hulu Langat for an early lunch at around 11am. Came back home a moment ago, rest for a while and had this time to publish a new post right here right now before catching my flight later in the late afternoon back to Singapore. That sums up my brief return trip to KL this weekend. Most probably will be coming back to KL again next month (hopefully can stay longer too…but without sacrificing annual leave…how…any idea?).

Update on later of the day…

Was greeted with a fascinating view of a pair of rainbow while the plane I was in was making a landing at the Changi Airport early this afternoon. Felt the urge to share some pictures during the flight including the one with the lovely rainbows mentioned earlier.

Have a good week ahead!

Leave a comment