Completed a whole TVB series (I’ve Got The Power) in 3 days!


‘I’ve Got The Power’ is a Hong Kong TVB series of 25 episodes that was released around 2 months ago. I do heard about it that time but I did not manage to watch it as I was being occupied with the road trip across New Zealand. I finally had the time to watch it this week and I watched the entire series in only 3 days (10 episodes on Tuesday, 10 episodes on yesterday and 5 episodes early today).

‘I’ve Got The Power’ is a supernatural action comedy drama that revolves around five ordinary humans with odd jobs who suddenly unlocked various supernatural powers (ability to heal, extreme strength, ability to control time, etc) respectively which they did not possess before after a traffic accident. They then became heroes when they seek justice for the people on the streets but eventually got entangled into the affairs of a wicked mob boss. The series starred Ruco Chan, Natalie Tong, Joel Chan, Tiffany Lau, Grace Wong, Moon Lau, Alex Lam, Sammy Sum, Jimmy Au, etc.

First of all, what a refreshing plot to a TVB series! It’s like a Marvel superheroes’ film in TVB’s drama version. Coupled with excellent performances by the cast (more on this later), exciting actions, moving and fast-paced storyline, this has become my most favourite TVB series in 2022. The series delivered in all aspects; I’m touched by the warm or emotional moments, thrilled by the action sequences, laughed at several hilarious scenes and very much intrigued as the series progresses. Pretty outstanding visual effects too judging from TVB standard.

The first female lead, Natalie Tong’s performance in this series and also in ‘The Righteous Fists’ released early last year had changed my perception of her acting over the years. I always thought that she is a bad actress. But wow…her performances in these two recent series blew my mind. Her acting felt very natural finally and with that, she was able to deliver on her roles in great form. Ruco and Joel delivered solid performances and same goes to all the other supporting cast too.

The ending was a bit open-ended and I had a mixed feeling about it. Is Ruco dead at the end? I think it’s likely after he used up his ultimate power to reverse time to a year ago before everything in the series happens. On the other hand, I don’t really know how Natalie could remember all just by touching Ruco’s hand at the end. It would be better too if the scriptwriter can explain why these people are suddenly granted supernatural powers after the accident that falls on exactly 6.06.06pm on 6th June 2020. A bit of point deduction in that aspect. Answering all these in the ending would have left viewers satisfied. Anyway, the series still scored pretty well based on my evaluation. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘I’ve Got The Power’ a total of 8.4. My highest rated TVB series released in 2022.

This also brought the curtain down for TVB dramas released last year that I watched. I will compile my annual selection of the best for TVB series in 2022 in my next post.

(Images in this post are from various online sources)

Leave a comment