Exploring the familiar and unfamiliar sides of National Gallery today after my previous visit half a year ago.


I stepped my foot into the Singapore’s National Gallery once again today after six months (I last visited the place in early December 2023). This huge complex of buildings are certainly a must-visit for art lovers, curious tourists and even architectural enthusiasts. The design of the gallery blending both the historical and modern architecture is spectacular.

The complex contains multiple interconnected buildings and floors of exhibition spaces including a rooftop area for dining, relaxation, sightseeing and venue of outdoor installations. I discovered from the gallery’s website that there are some new exhibitions taking place currently that are worth checking out and are not present at my last visit half a year ago. Hence, I’m coming back today to explore both the familiar and unfamiliar sides of the National Gallery.

There are indeed some areas in the complex that I don’t recall seeing during my last visit like the grand City Hall Chamber, remnant of holding cells and some foyers. Up at the rooftop, there is also now a new outdoor installation that is quite interesting and intriguing. It is also at up here that I saw the setup of the stage and seating areas all done for the coming 59th National Day Parade (NDP) celebration over the entire Padang. View from up there must be good during the actual NDP celebration.

During my visit this time around, I spent a lot more time trying to digest the meaning behind most of the artworks on display and read through many descriptions available beside each artworks. At the end of my nearly 4-hours visit, I do indeed felt exhausted from all the observing and analyzing in all the opened galleries (there are some galleries that are closed currently due to on-going replacement/updating work). It’s nearly closing time when I left the place.

That’s how I spent my Sunday today. One more week to go before June comes to an end and before half of the year is gone. Wow…

Leave a comment