Archive for March 20, 2017

Movie review for ‘Logan’ and ‘Kong: Skull Island’ (2017)

Posted in Miscellaneous on March 20, 2017 by vincentloy

It’s been over a week since I last written a blog post here. I have been busy for the past week due to a hectic design studio submission and I had also fall sick during that time. The extreme change of weather right now in Perth leads to me not feeling that well. In a sudden, the temperature soared beyond 35 degree celsius, and an hour later, it dropped to below 20 degree celsius. I was having fever, sore throat, cold, flu and headache for few days last week due to the weather, stress from assignments and constant lack of sleep. Fortunately, I was getting better now. Now I’m back to be slightly free and I immediately return to my blog here. I’ll have this post for movie review for ‘Logan’ and ‘Kong: Skull Island’ (2017). I have watched them some time ago actually.

‘Logan’ is a superhero movie featuring Hugh Jackman as Wolverine. It is the third films in X-Men series that focused on Wolverine (I think I have even forgotten on what’s happening in the first two). In this movie, a weary Logan cares for an ailing Professor X somewhere on the Mexican border in near future. However, Logan’s attempts to hide from the world and his legacy are upended when a young mutant arrives, pursued by dark forces. The young mutant is later revealed to be his daughter.

This movie has been getting very critical acclaim and is doing good in box office too. However, I don’t really enjoy the movie. I think people rate it very good because they put in a father-daughter relationship focus into the movie and it will create a lot of emotions. Even in that point of view, I’m not buying it. I don’t get carried away by that focus and I think their interaction falls flat. I also find that the action scenes in this movie are very little and unoriginal (it only has the gore), excessive draggy scenes throughout the movie and a sad ending that felt like ‘forced out’ of nowhere. I will only rate ‘Logan’ 6.2 out of 10.

The next movie is ‘Kong: Skull Island’. It is a monster film about of a team of scientists who went to explore and uncharted island in the Pacific. They ventured into the domain of a huge Kong and must fight to escape another species of monster called Skullcrawler in the island too. The movie starred Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larson, Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, John C. Reilly, etc.

I love watching monster films. This latest movie about Kong is still an entertaining one but I can’t resist from comparing it to the 2005 film ‘King Kong’ that starred Adrien Brody and Naomi Watts. I think that 2005 movie is much more exciting in terms of the story, character’s development, intensity of actions, production designs, and almost everything else. This latest Kong film is just a bit dull with the same formula (a team of people discovering a new island, some monsters in the island, etc). There are not much exhilarating scenes in this Kong movie (some were too fast especially when the Kong is killing a giant squid and when the soldiers were killed by a giant spider) that left me disappointed. The only thing I’m excited is watching the post-credit scene and hearing Godzilla’s roar again. I can’t wait for them to get together in a single movie and the start of Monster Universe films (just like DC Cinematic Universe and Marvel Cinematic Universe). Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Kong: Skull Island’ a total of 6.8.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)