A new laptop to use. And it’s Acer again.


I have used my previous laptop for about 5 years and it is dying. The battery needs to be replaced and some buttons for its keyboard are not working occasionally. It is an Acer Aspire 5750G laptop in dark blue colour. Its specifications are Intel-Core i7-2630QM 2GHz (Turbo Boost to 2.9GHz), NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M (up to 3765 MB Turbo Cache), 4GB DDR3 memory, 640GB HDD, 15.6 inch HD LED LCD. I’m not a particular technology-savvy person and so I didn’t really know much about all those specifications. For me, as long as the laptop is working, not too expensive and looks nice, then I’m okay.

It has been the laptop I have been using for almost every day for past 5 years. It is my second laptop. The reason I bought it because I lost my first laptop while I was in Ipoh. It is a Compaq brand laptop (this brand no longer present now), and it is stolen by robbers unfortunately. Now, it’s time for my second laptop to show ‘aging’ sign with more and more problems but I’m still grateful because it is still usable last year when I have that one and only laptop to work on all my assignments for my study. That laptop is significant, and I’m glad it can still manage to do all that tasks. It can still work now but is getting slower and accompanied with more problems now.

Hence, it’s time for my third ever laptop. I visited Low Yat Plaza, the digital mall in KL last Sunday with my friend who is kind of an expert in seeing those products’ specifications. At first, I would actually prefer to choose other brand this time. Dell is my first option. After a bit of research, Dell appears to be in quite a good ranking compared to all other laptop brands in terms of overall performance. However, when we visited its store in the mall, no one wants to entertain us (their potential customer), and it appears that their laptops are not that appealing. Then, we visited other stores. HP laptops are too expensive, no interest in ASUS laptops, and Lenovo laptops are not equipped with latest specifications. Our last stop was Acer store. Back to the store when I bought my second laptop on the ground floor of the mall. The staff is friendly and serves us well and their new laptops are looking good with great specifications too.

Hence, I ended up buying Acer laptop again. The one I chosen is Acer Aspire F 15 (F5-573G-75T4) in silver colour. It has Intel Core i7-7500U 2.7 GHz (Turbo Boost to 3.5GHz), NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M with 4GB dedicated VRAM, 4GB DDR4 memory (I upgraded it to 8GB), 128GB SSD + 1 TB HDD, and 15.6 inch FHD Acer ColorBlast LCD. It also has backlit light for keyboard and a Full HD 1080 desktop screen. This new laptop costs me RM3899. I also get a free backpack and a wireless mouse from that purchase. Now, this laptop is going to be my ‘main force’ for the next 5 years or more hopefully. I hope it will be good to use. As for my previous laptop, I’m not sure whether I can bring two laptops over to Australia next month for my study. If can, then I will bring two together and I will leave my old laptop for secondary use which may be necessary and useful sometimes.

acer-f15-lid

acer-f15-right-side

acer-f15-left-side

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

