Just when new year celebration is over, Chinese New Year is just around the corner.


Everyone is still in holiday now. That’s great. But that won’t last long. Everyone will be getting back to work or school tomorrow onward. It’s going to be massive traffic congestion early morning tomorrow. I’m not affected since I have no where to go. I will be just in my home, still enjoying my long break until end of February. Don’t get jealous. You didn’t know that I have many sleepless nights during my study last year. This holiday is well deserved eventhough I have to admit it’s a bit too long.

Recently, I had just finished watching another TVB series; ‘Rogue Emperor’ (流氓皇帝). It finished airing on the first day of 2017 and so I considered it as the first 2017 series that I have watched. It is a Hong Kong drama about a man who struggles through various obstacles in many years  to be together with his love. It starred Kenneth Ma, Niki Chow, Benjamin Yuen, etc. It’s a very short drama as it only has 17 episodes. That’s the shortest series I have ever watched. The drama is generally lousy.

14816185800

The story is mostly about a very naive and simple man who wants to get together with his girl with all the weird and boring supporting storyline in between. There are some really funny moments and good (sometime exaggerated but necessary for comedy drama like this) acting especially by the veteran cast. But all that could not save the overall plot that is being too dull and uninteresting. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Rogue Emperor’ a total of 5.5. Kenneth Ma was once getting a lot of good roles, but in recent years, he always get this kind of bad roles (same goes to Moses Chan). No wonder he is now behind Ruco Chan.

Just when the new year celebration is over, Chinese New Year is just around the corner. All the Christmas decorations in shopping malls have to be replaced quickly with CNY decorations now. I’m looking forward to eat all my favourite CNY biscuits, getting all the angpows, visiting my relatives, and of course enjoying my upcoming vacation in Vietnam during the CNY holiday. We planned to visit Vietnam few years ago but the plan has to be cancelled that time due to sudden passing of my grandma. Hopefully, we can go to Vietnam this time.

Ok…time to inject CNY feeling which I find lacking a lot this year. So, here’s a music video of a new Chinese New Year song to welcome this new lunar year of chicken, the Chinese zodiac animal this year.

chineseny2

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

