Last post of 2016: Me in 2016.


Today is the last day of 2016 and so this post will be my last blog post of the year. Goodbye 2016. Another year comes to an end. It’s also the time when you will see a lot of new year’s resolution. I’m not going to mention on that one as I find it pretty useless as most of them will not be achieved usually and are just plain talks. Wishing for good health and world peace are being too general, while wishing for losing weight (not for me since I’m thin enough) or saving more money are some that are near impossible. It all comes down to one’s attitude.

2016 has been a good year for me. It’s the year that I have been switching around between three countries. I live in Malaysia and this is the first time I’m spending most of the year not in Malaysia, but in Australia (Perth to be exact) for my postgraduate study. When I’m away, I somehow miss the view of Kuala Lumpur city skyline, a view that amazes my whole life in Malaysia. This picture below has also been my laptop’s desktop wallpaper most of the time this year.

11545069323_4b0958226c_b

(Image source: Skyscrapercity.com)

I went to Perth middle of February 2016 to commence my Master of Architecture study in Curtin University. But before that, during the Chinese New Year holiday, I actually went to Australia too. That was a vacation to Sydney and Melbourne. Some highlights from the tour is of course a visit to the iconic Sydney Opera House, Eureka Tower, Great Ocean Road and Penguin Island.

img_8857

Then, most of the year 2016 for me was on study, study and study in Perth, Australia. My first two semesters of the Master course. Perth is a much more quieter and smaller city compared to Sydney or Melbourne. But still, it’s a very beautiful and peaceful place to stay. I made some new friends (mostly my classmates), getting along with my housemates, doing fine in my study, and able to cook some food (that’s a breakthrough for me since I didn’t cook before besides than instant noodle).

img_3553

curtin-campus(View of Curtin University’s campus. Image source: Education.kilroy.net)

In the middle of it, I also went for a trip to Taiwan for a workshop and vacation that took half a month. That was from middle of August to early September 2016. A hectic and exhausting 10-days international workshop at National Yunlin University of Science and Technology at Yunlin and a quick and fun 4-days vacation at Taipei. This is my second time visiting Taiwan. The first time was way back in 2008. 8 years apart. I’m so glad that I’m back there to see one of my favourite skyscrapers, Taipei 101 again.

img_3945

I’m back to Malaysia for a year-end break that started mid of last November. I will be back to Perth on end of February next year for my last two semesters of study. Now, I’m in a long holiday.

That’s a summary of my life in 2016. Pretty usual but for me, that’s pretty exciting since it’s the first year I’m living abroad, away from family, home and favourite food in Malaysia. This postgraduate study oversea is an important stage of my life. It’s at least much more interesting than 2015 (2012, 2013, 2014 too) when I just spend the whole year working, working and working. Study life is better. But…no income, just spending…which is bad. Alright, after next year when I’m graduated, I’m back to working life.

For now, goodbye 2016!

2 Responses to “Last post of 2016: Me in 2016.”

  1. Imagon Nasah Says:

    Good to know you’ll be getting some time off of studying and working for a while (I’m guessing more/less things to post here eh:D)

    Anyways, I’ve been following this blog for almost a year now and although I couldn’t really follow all the things Chinese drama, I still enjoyed reading your reviews and personal commentaries among other things you spoke of.I guess that’s it, good evening from a fellow Malaysian plus visitor and a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

