It’s all about Rio 2016 for this month.


It’s the first day of the month and it’s also the official first day of my second semester. Well, there is no class for me on every Monday and so, I will be only start to attend class from tomorrow onward. But I have already had a site visit yesterday for my design studio this semester already which means that my time has already to be dedicated for this second semester. I’m looking forward to this second semester and I hope I can also do well just like what I have done for my first semester, or even better if possible. I’m also anticipating the end of this semester so that I can fly back to Malaysia by end of November or early December. Haha…it’s a bit too quick to think about that right now when this semester has just started.

BacktoCampus_Page

So, my holiday is gone and there comes four months of stress and heavy workloads from all the assignments and classes. Slowly, I think I would start missing the past month when all I do everyday is just by sleeping, eating, and surfing internet. I also don’t think there can be any more time for afternoon nap from now onward. I have to get the bad habit away, turn off my lazy mode and have to work hard and smart to deal with this semester and also two more in next year before the course’s completion and my graduation.

The 31st Summer Olympic Games is finally going to take place this month. The world’s biggest multi-sport event that happens once in every four years is a global event watched by all sporting fans around the globe. This 31st edition is scheduled to be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from 5th to 21st August 2016. The opening ceremony is going to be held on this Friday, 5th August on 8pm Brazil time. If I’m going to watch the live broadcast of the ceremony, I have to wake up very early on Saturday’s morning due to the world’s different time zone which is not too bad this time. I remember I purposely stay awake till midnight four years ago to watch the live broadcast of the opening ceremony for the London 2012 games. I was the only one in the living room watching the ceremony as I’m the only one in my family who have an interest on it. Can’t believe that was four years ago. Time flies.

Aerial-view-Rio-2016-Olympic-park1-e1469381187632

(Seen above is the new Barra Olympic Park for Rio 2016. The main stadium that will host some sporting events and also the opening and closing ceremonies is Maracana Stadium, is not located in this Olympic Park. That is odd since it is usually the main stadium will be the centerpiece of any Olympic Parks in the past.)

I didn’t have high expectation for this edition’s ceremonies due to the very low budget allocated on it and also low expectation to the overall games due to the many problems surrounding the host city this time. Brazil is facing economical instability, Zika virus, massive underdeveloped places, high security and safety risks, etc. But I believe Rio de Janeiro will compensate a bit with beautiful natural setting like the magnificent beaches and hills, more developed urban areas, newly constructed facilities and venues, etc. All I’m wishing for in this games is to see Lee Chong Wei to win Malaysia’s first ever Olympic gold medal this time in badminton. It’s his last chance, and I will elaborate later on this point if he managed to get into the final.

August 2016 Blog Header

In conjunction with the 31st Olympiad this month, Rio 2016, my blog header of the month would be also highlighting on this sporting event. Nobody would have not heard of Olympics. It’s the event that bring best athletes from across the world together to compete in various sports contested. It’s the event that the world will be putting the eyes on. It’s the event all sport fans love, even the ordinary people like me too who doesn’t really like sport much but still love to watch some intense sporting competitions. The visual for the header (from this original source: https://iso.500px.com/rio-de-janeiro-photos/) is a striking aerial view of the host city, Rio de Janeiro with the iconic Christ the Redeemer Statue overlooking the picturesque city. The image is superimposed with the official logo of the Rio 2016 to signify the games. How fortunate iit is for Rio de Janeiro to be chosen as the host city of such prestigious event.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

