Movies and series to fill up my holiday.


It’s very seldom for me to search for some unknown movies to watch. I only did that when I’m really very free, lazy and has nothing else more important to do. There are many movies out there that didn’t actually get any wide release (usually those low-budget productions) but some of them are still worth my time to watch especially the ones that dealt with subject matter that I’m interested in like slasher, disaster, or thriller categories. But I’m not going to explain more on that. In the same time, I have also watched some past Hong Kong movies that I left out last time when I was busy.

I have just came back from watching ‘Ghostbusters’ in cinema today. I enjoyed this movie. Before I’m heading to this movie, I’m a little bit concerned by the very low rating it obtained currently in IMDB website. However, it still gets quite a positive response from Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritics. I’m also frustrated by the declining qualities of many recently-released Hollywood movies. This ‘Ghostbusters’ is not very great, but it still manages to deliver beyond my expectation (maybe I have low expectation to it then). This reboot of the very popular classic hit movie of the same name first released in 1984 (Oh my God, the first movie was already here 32 years ago!) works out fine, but still not as good as the original one.  This latest film stars Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Wiig, Kate McKinnon, Leslie Jones, Chris Hemsworth, etc.

ghostbusters_ver6

This reboot basically tells about the same thing; a group of scientists going on ghost-hunting in New York City with help of many weird machines they invented. What’s different for this supernatural comedy-themed reboot is that the main characters (those scientists) are now females. There is a whole new level or different kind of comedy in these four women and the cast did well on that. However, I find that the script is not that good and that some funny scenes are a bit forced. The visuals and the editing are average. Some scenes are also a bit unnecessarily too loud and just like many others in the same theatre with me just now, I didn’t expect some jump scares in this movie. It shocked some old ladies seriously.

ghostbusters-2016-3

I’m fine with Hollywood recycling some of the great movies of the past but I find that they did it too much recently. They tried so hard to gain box office money by playing with our nostalgia with not much new ideas in mind. I’m like most others, are now getting pretty tired with the same recycling of movies all over again with those sequels and reboots keep coming in uncontrollably. ‘Ghostbusters’ is one of them, but fortunately, this one didn’t really ruin the classic fun and greatness of the original film but being a nice and welcoming reboot to this franchise that will also have appeal to current young generation. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Ghostbusters’ (2016) a total of 7.5. I also enjoyed seeing most of the main cast from the first movie returning for cameo appearances in this reboot. Before ending this, I also would like to compliment the effort in this reboot in making links and references to the first movie. Opps…and I missed the end-credit scene in the theatre just now. Shit…should have stay until the very end.

Article Lead - wide1011075531gpyvauimage.related.articleLeadwide.729x410.gpyuvf.png1467767653834.jpg-620x349

Besides than movies, I also dedicate part of my time on Hong Kong’s TVB series as usual. Recently, I have been very excited on catching up to latest episodes of ‘House of Spirits’. This is a supernatural comedy drama as well. It’s really funny and at the same time, intense and meaningful as well. TVB did a great job on producing this drama. Once I finished writing this post, I will be waiting for the release of its latest episode tonight to watch. So far, everything has been excellent and very entertaining in it (it’s the best for the year so far) and once this drama ends by end of this month, I’m going to write a review for it. Stay tuned for it.

13509126_10154200059773449_1742796410331660002_n

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

