Less than a month left to Rio 2016.


The Olympics is returning soon. The world’s biggest sporting event, the Summer Olympic Games which is held once in every four years, will be back this year. The 31st Olympiad which will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from 5th to 21st of August 2016 is now less than a month away. The time to catch up to some great competitions in sports from world-class athletes will be returning soon. If you didn’t know, after this Rio 2016, the next Summer Olympics will be Tokyo 2020.

Rio-Olympics

I can’t believe that London 2012 had already occurred four years ago. Time flies. I still remember I purposely woke up on midnight to watch the live broadcast of its opening ceremony alone in the living room. The ceremony was not as great as the one we saw in Beijing 2008 but was still memorable with some catchy scores and humors. Not many people like to watch this kind of ceremonies because many may find them boring and too long, but I do because I like to feel the excitement of an event that signal the beginning of an international games through breathtaking performances, impressive stadium and fireworks.

However, I didn’t have any high expectation towards the ceremonies for Rio 2016. It’s because the organizers had only allocated a shockingly little amount of money towards these ceremonies that will have over 1 billion audiences. They even stressed out that there wouldn’t be any costly presentation of technologies like light shows and they will only focus on the basics to present the Brazilian culture to the world. In the current time when technology is a must for shows, it will be a letdown seeing only ‘basics’ in opening ceremony especially for this world’s largest sporting event. But I will still want to try to watch the opening ceremony ‘live’ and I’m expecting the performances will be focusing more on highlighting Brazilian famous ‘carnivals’ with all the colourful dances. But I’m not that interested on this. Similarly to London 2012’s ceremonies which were below my expectation due to them being more of a musical shows than a real majestic ceremonies like what Beijing 2008 did, I think Rio 2016 will be more or less like London 2012. I think will be even worse than that. Beijing 2008’s ceremonies were still the best ever I had seen.

2016-rio-olympics-rio

Brazil also didn’t have a smooth time in these 7 years of preparation for the Olympics with negative issues like delay in construction of new sport venues for the games, corruption, weakening¬†economy, harsh treatment to move people away from the new Olympic zones, Zika virus, security instability, etc. I just hope that the games will just run smooth without any major letdown. I didn’t really wish for Rio de Janeiro to host the games from the very beginning. It’s a beautiful city but I think there is many other cities out there that are more outstanding than Rio to host Olympics.

2048-4

Nevertheless, I wish all the best for Rio 2016 which will be now only less than a month away. I’m excited to watch some great competitions. I’m looking forward to support my Malaysian athletes especially in badminton. Let’s hope that our Dato Lee Chong Wei can finally win the country’s first ever gold medal this time after having won only two Olympic silver medals in the past. Also let’s put our hope on some other athletes to deliver. Hmm…it would be nice if the games is held earlier, for example like right now, as I have all the free time now to watch the games. By next month when the games started, my semester has also started.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

