My review for 4 movies in a row….yes, I watched 4 movies in less than a week.


I think there is nothing better than spending the beginning part of my semester break on new movies. I have many films to catch up on, and while I managed to watch one by one of them, more and more new ones are on their way to hit cinemas. I noticed that there are a lot of highly anticipated new movies coming out recently (and more soon). Well, it should be since it’s the summer holiday season over in US (it’s the total opposite; winter now here in Australia). The 4 movies that I have watched recently in less than a week are ‘Warcraft’, ‘Finding Dory’, ‘The Angry Birds Movie’ and ‘Independence Day: Resurgence’.

‘Warcraft’ is a fantasy film based on the popular video game of the same name, and it sets on the fictional world of Azeroth. It would be a surprise to inform you that I have not played that game before and I have no knowledge of what’s the setting of the story and its world is all about. I just watched this for pure entertainment. I’m quite blur in the beginning when I have to digest the names and the characters. I just take it lightly and I ended up find this movie actually quite enjoyable, in contrary to the very poor reception it has over on popular critics’ sites. This movie is also making big money in China to my surprise. And I didn’t even know which character is Daniel Wu portraying in this movie. In the end after a quick research only I found out that he is the main bad guy with magic abilities, the Guldan. Couldn’t realize that with all the extensive CGI and sound effects. Overall, I rate ‘Warcraft’ a total of 6.4. It looks like the ending of the movie hints of more sequels coming in in the future (as expected).

warcraft-the-beginning-2016-large-picture-1024x768

Next is ‘Finding Dory’, the sequel to the highly successful award-winning ‘Finding Nemo’. ‘Nemo’ was released 13 years ago and it’s such a high nostalgic feeling to watch this underwater adventure story again. The first one was awesome, and this sequel that changes the attention from the clown fish to the blue tang didn’t disappoints too. The cute little Nemo and his father are still here, but the limelight is on the much funnier Dory that has a short term memory loss, and is lost, and has to find her parents in a marine park. It’s fun, engaging, and beautiful to watch, suitable for both adults and kids. And it is now making a lot of money across the world as expected. This is going to be the next 2016 film to cross over US$ 1 billion in grossing. I enjoyed this a lot, just like the first one. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Finding Dory’ a total of 8.0.

9213755_orig

We are only halfway there. Hang in there. Next up is ‘The Angry Birds Movie’. Another movie based on a popular video game, but this one is animated. I did play that game but not for long as my interest on it comes and goes very fast unlike some others. I still remember there was a period of time when almost everyone is playing it. Now, I don’t think so…its popularity fades quickly as well in this world where trends change quickly. It’s also a fun movie to watch but is not on Dory’s level yet. Hmm…I shouldn’t compare it that way and I would still like to compliment the effort of turning a simple video game into a movie with quite a nice storyline. It is also the directorial debuts for two talented people. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Angry Birds Movie’ a total of 6.9.

angry-birds-movie

Finally, the last movie review for the post. ‘Independence Day: Resurgence’ needs no further introduction. It’s a sequel to the 1996’s Independence Day movie that had us saw the world (particularly US as usual) destroyed by huge alien ships. Twenty years later, its sequel has finally came with much bigger alien ship returning to destroy the world. I came for the movie with high expectation, and in the end, I’m quite disappointed. Roland Emmerich is the ‘Master of Destruction’ with spectacular visual effects on city’s destruction scenes in many of his past directed movies like ‘The Day After Tomorrow’, ‘2012’, etc. I’m looking forward to that here as hinted from its trailers themselves. However, it turned out that the movie only shown us that in a minute or two out of the overall 2-hours length of the movie. Huge disappointment for me who likes to see disasters in movies.

ID4RHEADER-1

Independence-Day-London

Anyway, one plus point for changing the attention now from typical US landmarks to Asian landmarks now in this sequel (Marina Bay Sands and Singapore city, Petronas Twin Towers, Burj Khalifa dropping on London’s famous attractions like London Eye and Tower Bridge). Most of the destruction scenes are already in the trailer. That is what makes me angry and I hoped to see more of those heart-stopping sequences. On the other hand, it’s actually nice to see new cast mixed with the original cast (love to see Jeff Goldblum again) in this movie that worked out quite well. The visual effects are good (but not the best I have seen) and the score is not that powerful enough. It fells flat most of the time and it could be so much better in my opinion. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Independence Day: Resurgence’ a total of 6.1.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

