Semester break is the time for me to turn from a student to a tourist in Perth.


Semester break has started just not long ago and there is like a month left before the next semester of my study begins. I’m enjoying the holiday but I started to feel bored already. I’m now desperately finding things to do. This is a typical student’s life. When you are in the semester, you have to work so hard and couldn’t sleep much to complete the assignments. When everything is over and the holiday begins, you start to wonder what to do during the holiday.

I started off the break by transforming myself from a student into a tourist. Last Saturday, me and my friend went to Fremantle, a port city not far south from Perth. It’s a beautiful city with many historical heritage buildings, port, harbors, museums and beaches. Hmm…I think I have described about the city in my earlier posts. So, I’ll just move on with some beautiful pictures I have taken there.

IMG_3496

Fremantle Prison, one of the most iconic structures in Fremantle, but doesn’t look iconic to me.

IMG_3497

View from Round House overlooking a beautiful heritage street in Fremantle.

IMG_3498

Fishermans Wharf, the place to enjoy my fish and chips and I’m afraid of the many sea gulls over there waiting to snatch my food.

IMG_3499

Sunset in Fremantle.

IMG_3503

View of the ferris wheel in Esplanade Park, Fremantle. Look at the sky! Beautiful tone of colours.

We went to the Fremantle Market, Fremantle Prison (only outside view since the admission fee is expensive), Round House, Bathers Beach, Fishermans Wharf, Esplanade Park, and also wandering around some nice-looking streets surrounded by heritage buildings, cafes, shops, etc. After an early dinner of having fish and chips (a must meal over there), we took a quick time enjoying the breathtaking sunset view (it’s winter now here and so the sunset is on 5.20pm…so early) before leaving Fremantle and call it the end of the day.

Today, we went out again. This time is on city exploring in Perth. Ahh..not really city exploring since there is actually nothing much to see or visit in Perth Central Business District (CBD) since it’s very small compared to many other bigger cities I have been to. But Perth is still a very beautiful city and it’s ranked one of the most livable cities in the world. There are certainly reasons for that achievement and I can feel that since moving to here from past February. Today, we just head down to the Elizabeth Quay, the latest waterfront development of the city facing the beautiful Swan River. The quay is completed but developments in it are very slow. They all remains as flat plots of land without any sign of construction of buildings proposed over there. However, Elizabeth Quay is still a popular destination with parks, iconic Swan Bell Tower, some new pavilions selling food and beverages, jetties, bridge, playground, Spanda sculpture, etc.

IMG_3510

View towards the city from the Double Arches Steel Bridge in Elizabeth Quay. Spanda sculpture is on the right.

IMG_3508

Swan Bell Tower at the back. The thing that attracts me is those purple bras on display along these pergolas, marking the ‘Purple Bra Day’. What on Earth is that?

IMG_3511

View to the bridge I went to just now and the Swan River.

In the afternoon, we proceed to the famous Kings Park, a huge park overlooking the city. I think it is the largest inner-city park in the world (and just now I have only covered a tiny bit of the overall park and even for that I have already spend like three hours there). This is a perfect spot to enjoy the magnificent view of the city’s skyline. It is not far from the city, a very popular place to relax and enjoy the nature and the view, and contains gardens, bridges, fountains, sculptures, art gallery, cafes, souvenir shop, State War Memorial statue, viewing decks, open fields, outdoor theatre, etc. We met a local man whom is a photographer and he brought us to walk around the park. Hmm…out of sudden, we got a free guided tour in the park.

IMG_3554

IMG_3515

State War Memorial, a monument to commemorate the Western Australian soldiers who perished in the past wars, particularly the World Wars.

IMG_3517

The beautiful city skyline of Perth, the compulsory view from Kings Park.

IMG_3541

A nice-looking bridge in the park, but this is quite far from the main entrance area of the park.

IMG_3545

IMG_3546

IMG_3549

IMG_3553

A short timelapse video I made just now showing Perth’s city skyline from Kings’ Park in the afternoon.

The weather started to get really cold once after the sun disappeared. My hands were freezing. Nothing is better than a hot meal for dinner at Waterford Plaza near my house to end the outing today.

(Copyrights reserved to images and video in this post. Kindly ask for permission if you wish to use any of the images or video above)

 

Leave a Reply

