This is it: End of my first semester.


Hooray. Today marks the official end of my first semester. A quarter of my postgraduate study on Master of Architecture is done. Majority of the course is still not over but at least I have a reason to celebrate for now as a chapter of it has at least concluded. The long awaited semester break has arrived and I’m very excited for it after having waited for it for 4 months already.

end-of-semester-party-

Actually, in the past week itself, I’m already quite free since I’m done with most of the works for the semester. The pending ones are only the portfolios of which we basically only need to compile the things that we have done together for respective units. That’s all, and I’m also done with that, way earlier from the deadlines fortunately. This morning is the last day I’m going to the campus for the first semester. It’s the urban design studio class and it’s just for the submission of portfolio and also me having to listen part of the remaining presentations by the other students on the last assignments. That’s it.

I will be trying to make use of the coming one month of holiday I’m having not just by sleeping and going online at home only. That would be a waste of my precious youth. My goals are to learn some new skills and also to work on some of my hobbies if I have the mood. Since I’m not returning to Malaysia this time around (even though I wish to as I missed my family especially my two adorable nephews and also the delicious Malaysian food), I would need to spend my break here in Perth. Perhaps I may spend some days going out just for fun (most probably shopping and sightseeing) and to see what’s going on out there in the city. Furthermore, the weather recently is very nice and sunny despite it is currently winter season.

In the past week, as I have told you earlier that I’m already quite free, I had actually watched three additional movies after ‘The Conjuring 2’ last Friday. They are ‘Alice Through The Looking Glass’, ‘The Brothers Grimsby’ and ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out Of The Shadows’. These three are all average films. This Alice sequel isn’t as good as its predecessor (Alice in Wonderland) but I still find it enjoyable to watch. I won’t be as harsh as the majority of the critics out there on this sequel and I will rate it 6.8 out of 10. Its predecessor had grossed over US$ 1 billion in overall box office intake (that was a great achievement) but this sequel performed badly in the box office. As for ‘Grimsby’, I expected similar outcome from a movie involving Sacha Baron Cohen; another nonsense adult comedy film. But for this one, it is a bit better to my surprise as it involves some great messages for us to learn of. Well, those adult contents are still very strong and awkward. However, they blends quite well this time with some seriousness especially from his other partner in this movie, Mark Strong. Out of 10 points, I rate this a total of 6.6. Just forget everything logical and watch it and you will be surprisingly entertained. The last one is the ‘Ninja Turtles’ sequel. So many sequels nowadays. Just like the first movie, this one is also enjoyable to watch but lacks substance to push it over the ‘great’ mark. An average action movie with nothing much to comment. Out of 10 points, I rate this one 6.6. None of these three films get past 7 in my personal ratings.

alicettlg_payoff_1-sht_v13_sm

the-brothers-grimsby-grimsbydigitaljpgfinal_rgb

teenageposter

 

 

 

 

 

 

Right now, I’m just enjoying the time before the pressure-filled Semester 2 is coming by end of July. First semester is over and I’m hoping for the best to my results. Overall, I’m happy with what I have done for my first semester and I hope it continues to be like this for the remaining three.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

