Been in Perth for over a month already…starting to get busy with my assignments while still manage to find time for HK series.


Just dropping by to give a rough status update as I realized I have been away from my blog for many days recently. Well, I have been preoccupied with some assignments right now and in the same time, couldn’t think of any interesting topic to write.

It has now been a month already since I last left Kuala Lumpur and settled in Perth. So far everything has been smooth and I’m coping quite well with the transition from being a man with a job to a full time student back. I can also consider myself quite familiar with the surrounding here in Perth now, the city that I have to be in for about two years where I’m currently pursuing my Master of Architecture. It is just that the cost of food and daily supplies here that I’m not too happy about since everything is so costly over here than back in Malaysia. Well, that’s the difference between a developed country and a developing country.

The weather here is also quite good. It’s sunny most of the time and the temperature is fine and comfortable with frequent breeze. However, sometimes, the weather can change drastically from around 20 degree celsius, and then jumped to nearly 40 degree celsius the next day. I can literally feel that my skin is burning and I’m getting darker day by day if this condition continues. It’s like summer here, but it should be already autumn. Anyway, I’m still okay with it as long as there is no extreme weather or temperature level.

DSC02051

As usual, I have been catching up with some currently airing TVB series too. No matter how hard I have to work for my assignments or how much I have study, there is this compulsory slot in me for a bit of entertainment too just to get rid of the student’s stress. I had recently finished watching a 20-episodes series called ‘Fashion War’ (潮流教主) that starred Moses Chan, Sisley Choi, Ali Lee, Him Law, Vivien Yeo, Joel Chan, Koni Lui, Hanjin Tan, etc. It’s a Hong Kong drama that centers around office politics of a fictional high fashion magazine and shows the darker gritty side of the fashion industry. It mainly follows the fashion exploits of magazine editor Ip Long (Moses Chan) and his protege, Yannes Cheung (Sisley Choi).

Fashion War(潮流教主) Overview And Promotional Stills TVB 2016 AHMIKE.com

The story is generally fine with all the office politics going on but I think that the ending is a bit rushed with many points left unanswered or unresolved. I’m also expecting more scheming office politics towards the end of the series to make it more intense but it just concludes with thoughtless direction. This series can be in a total of 25 or 30 episodes for it to be more developed. Here comes a part for me to analyse the acting which should be very interesting for this drama especially to the huge line-up of actresses here.

145A92625020-3Hb

I’m still strongly opposed to the TVB’s plan of heavily promoting Sisley Choi. She is now in almost 3 out of 5 TVB dramas recently. That’s too much and I don’t see her acting skill sufficient to put her into the lead role. She needs time to improve and so it’s still better to put her in supporting roles first. Everything is too fast for her (similar to other rising newbie in TVB like Grace Chan). Anyway, she is not the worst in the series (but considered bad since she took up most of the series and that her character is too ‘innocent’ and fawning towards Moses). The girl portraying as the model named Nana in this series defines the worst in acting. Fortunately, Ali Lee did quite a good job in this series alongside with the male cast. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Fashion War’ a total of 6.9.

Okay…I have to get back to my assignments now as their deadlines are just around the corner. Study is still my top priority, and hence I have to reduce my time for blogging. That’s it for my latest update here. See you…

(The last two images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

 

Leave a Reply

