Movie review for ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’ (2015) and London Has Fallen (2016)


Despite having a number of assignments started rolling in for my study, I still managed to find some time to do one of my favourite activities; watching movies. I’m still trying to get myself as relaxed as possible in the time when I’m still preventing homesickness of going over me. Hence, movies are the best solution while my study remains my priority. So, after I have done writing the movie review for the two movies that I had recently watched here, I will return to my study (well, after a sleep first…haha).

Finally, I had watched the last film in ‘The Hunger Games’ film franchise; ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’. It was released last year to end the franchise of four films all together which is based on three young adult novels. In this final film, Katniss and the rebellion group led by President Coin had finally reached the Capitol and are determined to destroy President Snow and his allies. She realized in the end that Coin is behind this rebellion with evil intention as well. I remembered that the ‘Part 1’ film of the final chapter was mostly boring and draggy without much actions. Fortunately, this ‘Part 2’ delivered.

maxresdefault

the-hunger-games

thgmjp2-6

The story is engaging and fast-paced. There are also numerous intense scenes going on (flood of black ooze, mutants’ attack, ending chaos, etc) to keep me at the edge of my seat. Having these is already enough to put it way above the Part 1 movie that is mostly dull with nothing exciting happening. Jennifer Lawrence was taking on this role for the final time, and this Academy Award winner nailed it as usual. The supporting cast also did immense great job. The visual effects are good and we are all glad to see the happy ending of Katniss with Peeta. This concluding film also came with multiple emotional scenes especially from death of many characters in this part. Overall, this ‘Part 2’ film gave a satisfying conclusion to the franchise. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’ a total of 7.8.

Next up is my brief thought on ‘London Has Fallen’. It is a sequel to the film ‘Olympus Has Fallen’ which is about an officer named Mike doing his very best on protecting the President of the United States from terrorist attack in the White House. Of course, he is successful and the President survived. If not, we wouldn’t have this sequel, right? In this sequel, the President has to fly to London to attend the funeral of UK Prime Minister alongside many other world leaders. Mike followed and has to take all the risks and dangers when the President is under attack again in the city. Similar plot, but the context now is much broader as attacks are all over the city.

London-Has-Fallen-2016

London-Has-Fallen-33

Bigger scale car chase, shootings, and explosions. There are plenty of intense action scenes going on that makes it a thrilling movie to enjoy. However, I do observed that the visual effects in this movie are still not at its best (some parts still look unrealistic and they shouldn’t be in this big-budget production). Besides that, the plot is a bit illogical and cheesy at some points with insufficient and shallow story development. Anyway, if I don’t mind about that and just focused on its action (yes I am), then it is a good movie. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘London Has Fallen’ a total of 7.5.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

