My quick thoughts on 4 movies I watched in the past two weeks.


You must be surprised recently if you are one of my keen blog followers as I did not post anything about movie review for almost two weeks already. I don’t want my blog to be full of posts of only about movie review and so I tried to squeeze in all my thoughts for several movies that I watched recently together into one single post. In the past two weeks, I managed to add 4 more 2015’s released movies into my watched list. They are ‘Sisters’, ‘Sicario’, ‘Truth’ and ‘The Last Witch Hunter’.

‘Sisters’ is a comedy movie about two sisters who decided to throw one last house party before their parents sell their family home. The reason I watched this film is because I enjoy seeing Tina Fey and Amy Poehler cracking jokes and making funny expressions. I love seeing them together in collaboration like their hosting  job for three Golden Globe Awards in the past. They were really very funny. They are both the main leads in this comedy and I’m already expecting many great and genuine laughs from this movie. Maybe that I’m in with higher expectation, and so in the end, I’m not that impressed especially by its unappealing storyline. The plot of them mending their problems and relationships is a bit boring for me. There are still some good laughs but that’s it. It’s just a movie about party comedy, and nothing else. It lacks warmth, humor and insight into the subjects it wanted to tackle. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Sisters’ a total of 6.6.

Sisters-2015-Poster

Next up is a way more serious movie. I heard a lot good reviews for ‘Sicario’ that made me wanted to watch that particular movie. It even received three Academy Awards nominations for cinematography, sound editing and original score. Many even said that it is easily one of the top 10 best films of 2015. After watching it, I have to disagree. The movie is an action crime thriller movie that revolves on an idealistic FBI agent whom is enlisted by a government task force to aid in the escalating war against drugs at the border area between the U.S. and Mexico. First of all, the plot appeared to be intense but almost all of the scenes felt flat with very little actions or dramatic turns. Secondly, I don’t understand why Benicio del Toro is critically praised for his performance in this movie. He is nothing outstanding here. Even the female lead, Emily Blunt given a much better performance. Thirdly, the movie is overall plain and disappointing after its very promising first scene. The only good thing to note from this movie is its heart-stopping score by Johann Johannsson. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Sicario’ a total of 6.6.

Critica-de-Sicaro-635x336

The third movie is much better. ‘Truth’ is a newsroom drama detailing the 2004 CBS 60 Minutes report investigating the then-President George W. Bush’s military service, and the subsequent firestorm of criticism that cost anchor Dan Rather and producer Mary Mapes their careers. I think this is based on a true story and I’m quite engaged to the whole movie from the start to the end which is quite unusual as I’m not usually attracted to journalism as the theme in a movie. I even think that this is much better than ‘Spotlight’ and ‘The End Of The Tour’ of which these two are much more critically acclaimed than ‘Truth’. My thought is on the total opposite. As I mentioned earlier, ‘Truth’ delivered with very engaging story development with another wonderful performance by Cate Blanchett. I love seeing her in movies and she never disappoints. This is another one of her very solid performances. Other supporting cast like Robert Redford and Topher Grace are also great in their roles in here. This is one solid movie which is definitely overlooked by the critics and awards. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Truth’ a total of 7.8.

truth-poster011

Finally came my review for the last movie in this post; ‘The Last Witch Hunter’. It is a dark fantasy action thriller film and it starred Vin Diesel as an immortal witch-hunter who must stop a plague from ravaging New York City. The movie also starred Michael Caine, Rose Leslie, Elijah Wood and Julie Engelbrech. I actually quite enjoyed this movie as I like this kind of storyline of which the good guy and his gang get to take down on bad witches to save the world. There is a nice and unexpected plot twist near the end that enhances the plot. Many criticized the overly done and unrealistic CGI but I think that is fine. The only thing I have to criticize is the poor acting by Vin Diesel in this one. If he is in a group of people leading a movie, then he is still fine. But here, he is the sole main lead and he obviously couldn’t carry this heavy role with bland face, poor expressions and the same dull speaking tone throughout the whole movie. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Last Witch Hunter’ a total of 7.1. Still an enjoyable witch-hunting movie to watch.

The-Last-Witch-Hunter-2015

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

