Another opportunity for three movies in a row due to a very free and a boring first weekend of 2016.


That’s me back from another three movies in a row. Got to do it on a very free weekend which is also happens to be the first weekend of 2016. I’m now working hard on further increasing the total number of 2015 movies that I have watched, and to my excitement, it has now went beyond 80. That’s a milestone for me who enjoyed watching all sort of movies every year. I bet not many of you can reach that figure if you really try to count on the number of films in last year that you have watched. Anyway, let’s move on to my review to the 3 films below.

First is ‘The Wave’. It is a Norwegian film (yes, I think this is the first time I’m watching a Norwegian film). The only reason I watched it is because it is a disaster movie (I’m fans of disaster movies) and it has been quite well received especially at Norway of which this particular movie is their highest grossing film in 2015. The story is about a town which is threatened when a huge mass of rock tumbles into a fjord, setting off a huge tsunami. As expected, there would be some family issues added into the plot (very typical direction) and I’m skipping some parts of the movie as I knew where it all would leads to in the end as usual. Father going all out to save his drowning wife and kid. Ahh…couldn’t the writer write something else? Anyway, let’s forget about that. I do enjoyed the disaster scene of course when a huge wall of tsunami is coming to wipe out the town. The visual effect is great and is certainly of Hollywood standard too. There are also some intense scenes as expected to keep the momentum going and it’s a good thing. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Wave’ a total of 7.0.

The-Wave-1-e1450132023588

the_wave_-_h_2015

Next is ‘Bridge of Spies’. It is an American historical drama thriller directed by Steven Spielberg and starring Tom Hanks as a lawyer who is entrusted with negotiating the release of an American pilot and a scholar in exchange for Rudolf Abel (portrayed by Mark Rylance), a captive Soviet spy held under the custody of the United States. It is based on a true spy/prisoner exchange event in 1960 during the Cold War. I’m having expectation to this movie since it is directed by one of the most successful film directors, Steven Spielberg. In the end, I’m not disappointed but I’m also not very impressed with the overall movie. The story is solid and it developed in a good pace but I find that it lacks bigger drama or tense situations which are necessary in between the movie eventhough those may not happen in the real history. Two-time Academy Award winner for best actor, Tom Hanks is as usual very good and convincing in his role. Besides that, Mark Rylance is also doing well as the captive but I couldn’t see how his performance here made him one of the strongest contenders in best supporting actor category this year. He is just doing a fine job, with nothing outstanding that I can see. Generally, it is still a nice solid movie with good direction, performances and settings. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Bridge of Spies’ a total of 7.5.

BRIDGE-OF-SPIES-Poster

Finally comes the third movie, ‘The Peanuts Movie’. It is an animated movie based on the comic strip ‘Peanuts’, and the movie commemorates 65th anniversary of that comic strip. The film sees Charlie Brown trying to improve his odds with the little red-haired girl. Meanwhile, Snoopy writes a book about the Flying Ace, as he imagines himself as a legend trying to save his love interest and pilot, Fifi, from the Red Baron and his army. It is another animated movie that is no where near greatness or failure. I have not read its comic before and so I’m not attached to anything about Snoopy and Charlie Brown’s characters. Hence, I couldn’t really enjoy the movie and couldn’t dig out the essence of it. Hence, I couldn’t review further for it. I can only summarized it as an average movie with some entertaining moments too. A light-hearted animated movie. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Peanuts Movie’ a total of 6.9.

the-peanuts-movie-social

peanuts-social2

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

