3 Oscar-type movies in a row; ‘Carol’, ‘Room’ and ‘The Revenant’ (2015)


You must be wondering why am I blogging on this Monday’s afternoon when I’m supposed to be at work. Yup…I didn’t go to work today as I felt ill and had to take medical leave today. Some of my family members also went down from illness lately and I’m the latest one unfortunately. Now I’m seriously hoping that I would recover in these three days before my trip to Singapore this Thursday. Anyway, I still have the energy to post up review for 3 movies I had just watched in the past few days. They are all movies that are looking good for Oscars next February as they are already now contending strongly in many precursor film awards.

First is ‘Carol’. With over 90% rating from both Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritic, I should give it a go. Furthermore, it starred one of my most favourite Hollywood actresses; Cate Blanchett. The story sets in New York during 1950s is about a female department store clerk (Rooney Mara) who falls for an older, married woman (Cate Blanchett). Rooney Mara won Best Actress for this role in Cannes Film Festival and she is now the frontrunner for best supporting actress in many upcoming awards. After watching the movie, I understood the reason she get that huge amount of recognition recently. She is really good in the movie. She is a talented young actress and her acting in ‘Carol’ is brilliant. Her chemistry with Cate in a same-sex relationship in this movie is also very good surprisingly. On the other hand, let’s not forget another impressive performance by Cate Blanchett. She is awesome as always in all the movies she was in. The movie is literally all about these two showing off their acting talent and both nailed it. Other than that, I actually find the story not interesting and a bit too long. Perhaps, not my type but I’m sure this is the type Oscar voters love. I’m sure it will be contending for Best Picture in the Academy Awards. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Carol’ a total of 7.0.

003

Carol---2015-009

Next is ‘Room’. What I’m amazed the most from this movie are the acting (again) and the plot. The film started with a woman named Ma (Brie Larson) and her five-years old son, Jack (Jacob Tremblay) confined in a small room. They have been living their lives in there for several years locked inside by a captor. After they escaped from the enclosed surroundings that Jack has known his entire life, the boy makes a thrilling discovery; the outside world. Very interesting concept and I’m engaged to the whole story development. It’s a nice and a moving drama that hits me to the heart. Brie Larson delivered a fantastic performance in her role as the mother and she is now in the running for a major sweep of best actress awards out there. However, I think it is still Jacob who shined the most in this movie as her son. I’m stunned by the very realistic and touching performance by Jacob Tremblay. He is now only 9 years old and is already at this level of acting not many can think of. Another movie enhanced by superb performances by the cast. And this one gained extra points from me due to its creative and an affectionate story. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Room’ a total of 8.0.

room-poster

room-1024

Finally, comes ‘The Revenant’. Dear Oscar voters, you have to give Leonardo diCaprio an Oscar already for this one. He is long overdue and this movie gave a strong platform for him to contend in the Best Actor category again. He deserved it as he delivered another committed and demanding performance in this movie about a frontiersman named Hugh Glass (diCaprio) who sets out on a path of vengeance against those who left him for dead after a bear mauling. This movie is directed by Alejandro G.Inarritu who had just won Best Director from his movie ‘Birdman’ last year (the movie also won Best Picture). From that point, I’m having high expectation to this film but it turned out to be just an ordinary tale of survival in the cold wilderness. There’s nothing more than that and I’m slightly disappointed. The movie is also a bit too long and the excessive gore in certain scenes were unnecessary and disturbing. Nevertheless, the cinematography is awesome and some scenes are really quite intense and excellently produced. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Revenant’ a total of 7.5. Good movie, but not best picture quality.

maxresdefault-1

the-revenant-dicaprio

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

 

Leave a Reply

