Quick reviews for 4 movies in one post; ‘Attack on Titan’, ‘Submerged’, ‘Sinister 2’, ‘By The Sea’ (2015)


If you are a frequent visitor to my blog, you may have wonder how come I’m not blogging about any movie reviews recently? I used to write few movie reviews for like at least once a week and I didn’t do that for the past week and more already. Didn’t I watch any new movies recently? Nope…as usual, I’m heading to add up my number of films in 2015 that I have watched, and now, I’m squeezing reviews for 4 movies all together into a single blog post right now.

The first one is ‘Attack On Titan’. It is a 2015 South Korean film and is a live-action adaptation of a very famous manga of the same name by that particular country. The movie is split into two parts, and eventhough I don’t understand what they are talking in the movies (Korean language of course) and I do fast forward in some scenes since this two-parts film is a bit too long , but I roughly knew what’s the whole thing is about. Set in a world where humanity lives inside cities surrounded by enormous walls, the film tells the story of Eren, his adopted sister Mikasa and childhood friend Armin, who joins the military to fight gigantic humanoids called the Titans after their home town is invaded. The titans look horrifying, huge, ugly and worst part is that they ate human beings. They are the only reason I watch this movie and this is my first every South Korean film that I have watched. The visual effects are good and I also like the story development in the first part but as the movie continues to the second part, I felt tired and uninterested anymore. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Attack on Titan’ a total of 6.6.

86133281

attack-on-titan-movie-2015-screenshot-30

The next movie is ‘Submerged’. It is a movie this year basically not many people knew as it didn’t get to enjoy wide release. And I think it shall be ‘drowned’ too. The movie is about a young woman and her friends who are all trapped in a limo submerged in the canal after being targeted by kidnappers. It first started very well with all the thrilling tension of these characters trapped within a confined space under the water. I like this kind of setting for a movie and I prefer the movie to stay with this core plot all the way. However, the movie then continues to let me down with multiple boring flashback scenes showing how and why it all leads to them being targeted by kidnappers forming major parts of the movie unnecessarily. The ending on-ground scene is also not intense and the plot twist is nothing impacting. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Submerged’ a total of 6.0.

Submerged-2015-Watch-Online-Full-Movie-499x293

27SUBMERGED-facebookJumbo

The next movie in this post is ‘Sinister 2’. It is a 2015 supernatural horror film and is a sequel to the more successful predecessor. This film series is about Bughuul, a legendary supernatural being controlling the mind of kids and have them murder all of their respective family while recording them to keep the murders a cycle to different families. I remembered I was pretty freaked out by the first movie as that’s the first time I’m seeing the terrifying Bughuul and he is really very scary in his scenes. In this sequel, Bughuul appeared a lot more but I’m not scared anymore. Perhaps it is best to keep his appearance minimal for more mysterious and scare effect. There are also notably more jump scares in this sequel but I felt that overall, the story is not that good compared to the first one. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Sinister 2’ a total of 7.0. It’s still a nice horror movie to enjoy especially at night.

1436978933-sinister-2-final-quad

sinister-2-1

Finally, comes the review for the last movie. It’s ‘By The Sea’. It is a 2015 romantic drama film starring Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt. Angelina is also director of this movie. She loves taking on directing job nowadays too. The only reason I watch it is because it receives early Oscar buzz before its release (but now no more due to the poor reviews) and because I love to watch Angelina Jolie’s movies. This is also the first cinematic collaboration between this real-life star couple after Mr. & Mrs. Smith in 2005. However, this movie is disappointing because the story is very boring and there is always in my mind that I prefer to watch them in exciting action-packed movies rather than in a dull drama film like this. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘By The Sea’ a total of 6.0. The reason the movie didn’t get below 5 from me is mainly due to the star power from my favourite actress, Angelina. I hope that she will get on great action movies back which are more suitable for her.

By-the-Sea-2015-free-full-movie-download-1080p.

bythesea006

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

