Two movies (‘Spectre’ and ‘Goosebumps’) this long weekend, or possibly more.


The excitement over the current four-day long break in this weekend is erasing my sadness from losing quite a lot of money in rummy game last night with my family. I guess many would take a day of leave tomorrow too so that we can enjoy a long four-days weekend break as this coming Tuesday is Deepavali holiday. With a lengthy period of break, it won’t be nice without a visit to the cinema for some great movies released recently. I have just came back from Mid Valley Megamall with my friend, and we had a movie marathon; watched two movies in a row (lunch in between). The two movies are ‘Spectre’ and ‘Goosebumps’.

‘Spectre’ is the 24th James Bond film and it features Daniel Craig in his fourth performance as James Bond, the 007 agent which is one of the two most iconic fictional characters by UK, the other being Mr. Bean. I always find Daniel Craig to be the right man to portray this insanely popular character as he possessed the look, coolness and the stamina Bond requires for his stunts and actions in the movies. In this latest film of him, he returned with the same charm alongside other cast members, Ben Whishaw, Christoph Waltz, Lea Seydoux, Naomie Harris, Andrew Scott, Monica Bellucci and Ralph Fiennes (still couldn’t get off my thought of Harry Potter’s Voldemort whenever I see him in other films). However, the movie disappoints in many level to me as I find almost the whole film to be very boring with absolutely draggy story development. There is also too much unnecessary and unessential lengthy dialogues going on between multiple places that left me to look at my watch frequently during the movie.

JuYnp

SPECTRE-1-1200x675

10562692-large

The film started very well with fantastic setting of Mexico City during the ‘Day of the Dead’ festival and a wonderful opening action sequences. However, it all leads to nothing intense or dramatic for the next 2 hours before the ending which is also rather ordinary. I’m annoyed of not only seeing too many boring talks between characters but also by Bond making love with this girl and then the other. I’m not here to see him do that, I’m here to see him performing daring and breathtaking stunts. And this film delivered very less of that and it is definitely not a good thing for a James Bond film. Eventhough Daniel Craig’s performance is good, but the film’s plot is pulling the whole Bond adventure down. I’m thrilled with the story leading to the Spectre organization that linked all the past three Bond movies together. However, it ended up short of that anticipated greatness of how this Spectre can do to hurt Bond more. Things didn’t work out well at all for this latest Bond movie but I think it will still make huge bucks in global box office. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Spectre’ a total of 6.8. The poorest Bond movie out of the recent four films with Daniel Craig in it.

Next up is ‘Goosebumps. I’m relieved that ‘Goosebumps’ do give me the entertainment I need after that lengthy two and a half hours of Spectre’ film that is all serious yet uninspiring at all. ‘Goosebumps’ is a live-action computer-animated horror comedy movie based on the popular children’s book series of the same name by R.L. Stine. It follows a teenager who teams up with the daughter of young adult horror author R. L. Stine after the writer’s imaginary demons are set free accidentally on the town of Madison, Delaware. The movie starred Jack Black (long time didn’t see him in movies and he is still good in this kind of role), Dylan Minnette, Odeya Rush, Amy Ryan, Ryan Lee and Jillian Bell.

Goosebumps-2015-Movie-Wallpaper

goose1

I know this movie is probably more fun and exciting for the kids but I also having a good time and engaged throughout the whole movie unlike ‘Spectre’. The storyline is very interesting as expected. The stories and the imagination are powerful tools here and they are being utilized well with great visuals and direction. The only thing that I wish for more is that we can see more of the main characters bumping and dealing with more types of monsters on their way for a much compact adventure. But right now, things are still fine and actions are pretty sufficient too, complete with some nice hilarious moments especially from Champ, the character that is sometimes annoying but he is the one there who contributes most of the laughter. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Goosebumps’ a total of 7.5. I’m having a fun time watching this spooky yet kids-friendly entertainment.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

