Tom Cruise shines again in Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation (2015)


For spy intelligence and action-centred films, I always enjoyed two film franchises which are based on that themes; James Bond and Mission Impossible. Both will have new films up this year, and the latter had it out first with ‘Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation’. It’s the fifth installment in its series which first started almost two decades ago that revolves on agent Ethan Hunt whom has to perform many daring actions to solve cases. The first three movies were way back many years ago, and as far as I can remember, those are great movies. The fourth one, ‘Ghost Protocol’ is for me, the best of the series so far.

MI5_Shareimage1

After watching this latest ‘Rogue Nation’ movie, I can say it’s second or third best of the franchise while ‘Ghost Protocol’ remains my most favourite. Second or third best doesn’t mean it is not good. It currently enjoyed very fairly positive ratings and I’m bound to rate the same. In this fifth movie, Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise) with his team has to eradicate the Syndicate, an international rogue organization formed to destroy their Impossible Mission Force (IMF) organization. The film starred Tom Cruise, Simon Pegg, Jeremy Renner, Rebecca Ferguson, Ving Rhames, Sean Harris, etc.

Mission-Impossible-Rogue-Nation-Clips

I was quite excited in the beginning as the movie is already commenced with Tom Cruise hanging outside the flying plane. Wow…and I was further thrilled when an aerial view of my city, Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) is shown in a shot (few seconds only) at the beginning of the movie where one of Ethan’s teammate has to fix a signal issue on top of KL Tower. I was hoping for more from the plane scene but it doesn’t contain any further stunts besides than just having Tom Cruise outside the plane (and he get into it and flies out with bombs). But I have to really commend Tom Cruise’s courage to film that scene in real, just with a safety belt that is erased in the final cut for the movie. Safe or not safe, I won’t do that, but Tom Cruise did it. He is really a good and a real action star in Hollywood. On the other hand, I was also hoping for more scenes in my country, but nope…KL only exists in the movie for a two-second quick unnoticeable shot. Hmm…a bit disappointed.

But that doesn’t really ruin my mood to look forward as the story progresses. However, I find it a bit hard to follow the details as the story development goes more and more deeper. It’s slightly complicated for me to digest. I’m actually not really happy with the plot element for the Syndicate. It does nothing besides than having few members (weak and easily defeated by Ethan), and only knows how to manipulate Ethan and the girl to do works for them. They have no big evil plans and the whole Syndicate thing is weak. I’ll just put that aside and focus on the actions.

2015-bmw-m3-mission-impossible

Fortunately, the movie still delivered on some fantastic stunts and action sequences. Tom Cruise nailed the challenges. Despite being in the age of 50s, he is still great in this role that requires the most energy and courage out of him. However, the actions here especially in the final part are not dramatic or intense enough to put me at the edge of my seat. ‘Ghost Protocol’ is still better in this. The other cast did very well, and I’m glad that Simon is given heavier role here. He is also the one delivering the humorous parts of the movie most of the time. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation’ a total of 7.4. Still interesting but not as exciting as its predecessor. On the other hand, I still have ‘Spectre’, the latest James Bond movie due to be out later this year.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

