Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri! Have a blessed 2015 Raya holiday…


I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely wish to all my Malay friends, Selamat Hari Raya Aidifitri!

hari-raya-2015-sms-wishes

I’m actually quite jealous of this festival because it gets early every year. The reason is that the Islamic calendar is shorter than the Gregorian calendar, the normal calendar we used which has 365 days a year (366 for leap year). Based on Islamic calendar, there is only 355 days a year (10 days lesser). That’s why Muslim’s festivals are arriving quicker every time, including this Hari Raya, the most festive celebration for them.

It’s really worth celebrating for them since they have to go through one month of fasting in the Ramadhan month. I really admire the effort of not eating or drinking for a whole day before evening. And that has to go on for a month long. If I have to practice it, I think I’m going to be very exhausted and have no mood to do anything for the whole month. I’m going to faint easily too as I always have to eat and drink a lot to keep myself energized for daily tasks. Bravo to all fasting Muslims. You are great. Actually it’s nice to do fasting as it helps to save money from skipping the lunch.

But hey…a week ago, I saw few Malay kids eating at a stair near a lobby in a shopping mall during the fasting period. Isn’t that wrong? I guess they are literally too hungry and decided to eat, hoping not to get caught by anyone since they are doing so in a corner like hiding. But I saw them. Oppss…a bit awkward as I looked at them for about 10 seconds and they knew it. Fortunately, I’m not Malay, if not, they would be scolded for being against the religious practice.

10570424_761174757237884_8741603507888673013_n

Anyway, Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri once again! Wishing you to have a safe journey for ‘balik kampung’ (returning to hometown) for the celebration. As for the others whom are not celebrating, have a happy holiday! Enjoy the longer weekend break!

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

 

One Response to “Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri! Have a blessed 2015 Raya holiday…”

  1. […] Image source: vincentloy.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

