July 2015 started with ‘Inside Out’ and plenty of emotions.


Hey…here comes another new month! And now, it’s official; half of 2015 is gone. Time flies. Another half year to go before we say welcome to 2016. In the last two months, I am getting myself prepared to make my plan for Master of Architecture study in oversea a reality by mid of the year. I’m being offered a place in second semester from several universities particularly in Australia. After rounds and rounds of thinking, I picked Curtin University finally. However, there was a long story with misleading information given to me in between, and I was only informed that there isn’t any mid-year intake for my course. I’m in a state of shock, disbelief, frustrated and anger. Wasted my time on preparation for it, and now I have to wait another half year for the study.

You would not have imagined how much of a mixture of feelings is inside of me right now! And coincidentally, today I manage to watch a film which is all about ‘feelings’ too. It’s ‘Inside Out’, the latest animated movie by Pixar which is being very well received right now. Directed by Pete Docter, the film is set in the mind of a young girl, Riley Anderson (Kaitlyn Dias), where five personified emotions—Joy (Amy Poehler), Anger (Lewis Black), Disgust (Mindy Kaling), Fear (Bill Hader), and Sadness (Phyllis Smith)—try to lead her through life as she moves with her parents (Diane Lane and Kyle MacLachlan) to a new city.

inside-out_banner

 

Inside-Out-Japan-Pixar-Post-3

The first huge praise for the movie is its stunning original concept, creative idea and a smart storyline. Pixar seldom disappoints on delivering top quality animated features. In their past works, they had been dealing very well with many different subjects like toys (Toy Story), monsters (Monsters Inc), superheroes (The Incredibles), fish (Finding Nemo), rats (Ratatouille), robots (Wall-E), etc with moving stories. This year, Pixar returned with another wonderful story, and it’s all about feelings. You may notice that the characters in ‘Inside Out’ childish, but I can assure you that everything inside is appealing to both children and even adults. I find the plot engaging, and the characters’ adventure in the story interesting. And above all, moving and sending a great message to audiences.

11401439_10153686065936840_112896271236814265_n

A. O. Scott of The New York Times deemed the film “an absolute delight”, reserving particular praise for its “defense of sorrow, an argument for the necessity of melancholy dressed in the bright colors of entertainment.” I personally liked his statement as it best describes my thought of this film too. Pixar is at the top of its game again, and I would rate ‘Inside Out’ a total of 8.0. Certainly the best animated film this year so far. ‘Minions’, please step aside.

Since this new month started with so many feelings from ‘Inside Out’ and also from within myself on the situation I highlighted in the first paragraph of this post, my blog header of the month would be themed on ‘feelings’. I would describe the visual as ‘A Touch on Feelings in Colours’. Colourful yet abstract, and above all, beautiful image, edited from original source at http://www.pageresource.com. It’s a bit similar to last month’s blog header too.

July 2015 Blog Header

Emotions actually play a key role on determining how far or how successful we can go. Once you can tackle your emotions very well, then you have less one thing to worry and it’s a lot easier to face things or problems ahead. This is what I learnt from the movie and also from my past experience. Hoping for good time ahead for me and also for you guys! Have a nice July 2015!

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

2 Responses to “July 2015 started with ‘Inside Out’ and plenty of emotions.”

  1. HOPE YOU ENJOY YOUR STAY IN PERTH, AUSTRALIA. I hear that everything is in the one place since Perth is small 🙂 You’ll do fine! I enjoyed Inside Out as well! it was so well done.

Leave a Reply

