Two movies to mark the start of the month. The Midnight After (2014) and Tomorrowland (2015).


In this month, we are going to see the release of new films that I’m very much looking forward to like Jurassic World (the fourth film of its franchise) and Minions (spin-off or prequel of Despicable Me 1 & 2). Then, by next month, we would have Ant-Man (new Marvel superhero film), Terminator Genisys (fifth instalment of its franchise), and Pan (Peter Pan live-action movie). But before all that, I managed to watch two more movies to mark the start of a great movie season ahead.

First, is ‘The Midnight After’. It is a Hong Kong film released last year. I seldom write a review for a movie released in the previous year as I will only do so for movies in the present year. However, I find it worthy to write something about this very distinctive Hong Kong film that has received Best Film in Hong Kong Film Critics Society Awards. The Chinese title of the film is extremely long yet intriguing; 那夜凌晨,我坐上了旺角開往大埔的紅 Van. It revolves on a group of passengers (from diverse backgrounds respectively) riding on a minibus from Wong Kok to Tai Po late at night. As the bus emerges from the tunnel, everything is suddenly still and quiet. There isn’t any car or anyone besides them in the minibus. The nervous and frightened group of passengers then try to seek refuge, help and answer to the mysterious madness they are in.

midnight after 70 x 100_lowres_no cropmarks_{aa1f5eec-f888-e311-93ff-b8ac6f1685e8}

464f7fc236db47fdb01695e5be037083

The plot looks very interesting. It is a kind of experimental film, and I’m glad that somebody from Hong Kong had the effort to do this. The movie combines comedy, sci-fi, mystery, and horror into one. I heard that the movie is actually a very much local film that has its story linked indirectly to the current political situation between Hong Kong with China and its former ruler, Britain. Eventhough I’m not from Hong Kong, but I’m actually quite engaged to the story. I like mysterious stuff. However, I’m slightly disappointed by the many unanswered and built-up questions in the plot that leads the movie to nowhere in the end. The open ending is too much. However, I like the positive messages conveyed from the movie. On the other hand, the visual effects are also good. It’s nice to see this kind of movie but actually there can still be many ways that it can be better. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘The Midnight After’ a total of 7.3.

Next up, is ‘Tomorrowland’, an American sci-fi adventure film that should have a Disney feel in it. But in the end, nothing seems to work out from this movie. No wonder it is now considered a giant box office flop from its current performance in theatres across the world. The plot is as follows; bound by a shared destiny, a teen bursting with scientific curiosity and a former boy-genius inventor embark on a mission to unearth the secrets of a place somewhere in time and space that exists in their collective memory. Looks interesting, but the movie delivered the opposite. The whole story is boring, dull and not engaging at all. I felt like I want to get out of theatre after 20 minutes. I still manage to finish the movie, and I think I have wasted my money on it.

tomorrowland-2015-movie-poster

27D54E6B00000578-3049641-image-a-9_1429659292391

Even the good visual effects in the movie could not help to improve the reputation of the movie. There is nothing wrong with the casts and it’s nice to see George Clooney. But his celebrity power doesn’t help in any way again. I felt nothing while watching the movie. Only bored. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Tomorrowland’ a total of 6.0. It started off quite well, but continues in a very dull presentation. Maybe the kids would treat this movie better. I’m not. I’m not enjoying it, and it’s a waste of my time, money and energy for it.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

