A week with exciting TVB drama, and ‘Cinderella’.


Felt ill in these few days. A bit of flu, fever, headache, cold, unwell throat and insomnia all mixed up together for a ‘great’ me this week. I’m still in a stuffy nose now when I’m typing this post. Couldn’t even breath properly now. But thank God, my life isn’t that miserable this week, thanks to the one day of medical leave and also some interesting entertainment for me to catch up to this week; an exciting TVB drama called ‘Eye in the Sky’ and a live-action ‘Cinderella’ film.

‘Eye in the Sky’ is a Hong Kong’s TVB drama of 20 episodes currently airing which revolves on investigators (police, private investigators, and security officers in a hotel) solving cases mostly with aid from close-circuit television (or simply known as CCTV, hence the series’ title). With typical relationship, family and hatred/villainous issues put into the story, you get an intense drama. Have been catching up seriously to this very good quality drama, which is something hard to get from TVB nowadays. Too bad, the series is ending next week. Would prefer it to be slightly longer. Every casts is doing extremely well so far, especially Ruco Chan and Kevin Cheng as the two male leads.

Once I completed the series, I will certainly put up my review of the drama here (somewhere before end of the month). The series is getting really exciting. This is so much better compared to ‘Raising The Bar’, a drama released not long ago based on junior lawyers or barristers. I did watched its first few episodes, but gave up after that. I seldom give up on series like that, and when I did that, it means the drama is really seriously bad and not worth my time to watch further. Even another currently airing youth drama, ‘Young Charioteers’ is better. But still, ‘Eye in the Sky’ is the best right now. The best so far. Will tells more of my opinions of the series once it ends next week as mentioned earlier.

Just now, I had also watched ‘Cinderella’. Not the Disney animated classic that was released way back many decades ago, but the live-action depiction of the fairy tale released this year that starred Lily James (as Cinderella), Richard Madden (as Prince), Cate Blanchett (as the stepmother), Helena Bonham Carter (as the Fairy Godmother), etc. I like that the movie stayed true to the original storyline rather than putting so much twist (like ‘Maleficent’ or even the ‘Snow White and the Huntsman’) that destroy the ‘magic’ of those beautiful childhood tales. Very expected story development (as we all knew the beautiful and innocent Cinderella story) but still delivered effectively in this movie that came with fantastic costumes and production designs. The scores are also brilliant.

Cinderella_2015_banner_3

Lily James does well as Cinderella, but I tend to put more attention on Cate Blanchett as the wicked stepmother. Not much screen time, but her presence is very strong in all her scenes. Very powerful and her performance is always amazing no matter what role she takes on. Now, she joined the list of the very few leading Hollywood actresses that I admired (Angelina Jolie, Naomi Watts, and her, Cate Blanchett). I even likes her name. Sounds cool. A fairly good movie with a happy ending everyone wished for. I’ll ‘have courage and be kind’ to this movie; I’ll rate ‘Cinderella’ (2015) a total of 7.7.

Cinderella-2015-ball-1024x682

CINDERELLA

 

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

