End of another CNY festival. Happy Chap Goh Meh!


The first 15 days of the Lunar New Year celebration is the most joyous time for the Chinese when we can take a long break, return to hometown, and enjoy visiting relatives, tossing yee-sang, gambling, play fireworks or firecrackers and of course collecting angpows (for the single). I have done all of the above except for the ‘hometown’ one as I don’t have one. We stayed and celebrated at KL (and overseas for family trip during the CNY break) in every Chinese New Year.

Chinese-New-Year-2015-HD-Picture-36

This year, all those happy moments went off so quick that I didn’t realize that the 15-days festival is going to end today. Today is already the 15th day of the Lunar New Year, and so I take this opportunity to wish all Chinese a Happy Chap Goh Meh! We can get to watch or listen to fireworks in our own neighbourhood in this very last night. After that, everything went back to quiet and peaceful night until the Raya.

This year, I managed  to collect over 100 bucks in angpows. Very little compared to most others but for me, that amount is among the highest I have received in recent years. This year during CNY, I managed to meet almost all of my relatives (very glad not because of the more angpows that I will receive, but because of the joy of meeting back most of my relatives whom we didn’t get to see each other in other days throughout the past year). And I lost over half of my angpows’ money in gambling during the CNY period. How unlucky I am. Ohh…yeah…My Chinese animal zodiac is goat. This is the Year of the Goat. And so, I’m not going to be anything good this year according to Chinese horoscope forecast. But I’m not that superstitious and don’t really believe in all these.

So, it’s time to get rid of your CNY mood and get back to normal routines of going to school or work. How boring is that. Luckily, next year’s CNY is coming sooner. But we have to wait a whole year for that lo….Fortunately, we live in Malaysia and so, we have other major holidays to enjoy too like the Malays’ Hari Raya Aidilfitri which is only four months away from now.

Ok…Last but not least, I’m taking this opportunity to wish everyone a Happy Chinese New Year for the last time this year on its very last day of the festival. Gong Xi Fa Cai! And in conjunction with the 15th day of CNY today, Happy Chap Goh Meh too! Let’s enjoy this wonderful festival till its very last second!

2015_CNY_Tratles

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

 

Leave a Reply

