Watched both The Amazing Race 24 and 25 this year. Loved it.


Do you believe it? I have just completed a marathon of watching all the 12 episodes of the latest season of The Amazing Race 25 in just two days. 6 episodes for a day. That sounds crazy but that’s how I spend my Christmas break at home. I enjoyed this American reality television show which already has a history of 13 years in its running. I think you must have heard of this show of which a number of teams (two person in each) go around the world and complete challenges to win US$ 1 million in the end. That’s a huge reward (not to mention some prizes awarded to winner of each legs).

latest

Just about a few months ago, I took the time to watch The Amazing Race Season 24 which is actually released early this year. From there on, my interest to the show keeps building up and I will certainly catch up with its future seasons. It’s quite interesting, intense and exciting to watch those teams betraying or teaming up with the others, arguing within themselves over matters, fed up or intend to give up in some difficult challenges, took some wrong decisions, made some embarrassing moves, lost in the directions, running madly to pit-stop to prevent from being eliminated, etc. It’s just so thrilling and heart-stopping watching the show. What an adventure for them!

Sometimes, I do think what would happen if I am one of the contestants. I would have the chance to be a millionaire after winning the show, but I think my chance to win it is very slim as most challenges are very difficult, physically and mentally demanding for me. Haha…And by the way, if you don’t know, The Amazing Race is hosted by Phil Keoghan. He is getting pretty old after seeing him hosted the show for 25 times already and more to follow soon. He is very good in the show by the way.

Comparing Season 24 to 25, I liked Season 24 more. The challenges in that season are mostly more interesting, and things are a bit more organized. The winners for that particular race are Dave and Connor O’ Leary (father and son) (featured in image below with KL’s Petronas Twin Towers in the background in one of their legs). They are the first parent-child team to win the American edition of the competition, and at age 58 at the time of filming, Dave is also the oldest person to win an edition of The Amazing Race. Very happy for them to have won that. They deserved it very much. In one of the legs of the race, they traveled to my country, Malaysia too and had challenges at Sabah and Kuala Lumpur.

1317719

Season 25 which had just been released not long ago is not that good. It lacks a bit of excitement and it is quite unfair in certain stages when some with poorer performances made it to next legs while they should actually be eliminated. The time arrangement isn’t in very good order in this season too. The winners for this 25th race are the food scientists, Amy and Maya (featured in image below with Phil). For me, this team is among the poorest or weakest but luck came to their rescue most of the time, and they won the race surprisingly in the end. This team should have been eliminated in the 11th leg (before the final) as the organizer should sticks to the rule of only allowing 3 teams in the final leg. Personally, I prefer Adam and Bethany to win.

theamazingrace_Amy_Maya_1200_article_story_large

Anyway, still looking forward to future seasons of The Amazing Race. A cool reality TV game show. I felt like I’m in the race myself too while catching up with all the episodes of The Amazing Race 24 and 25 this year too. Haha…

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

