This is officially my 1500th post, and a short movie review for ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’.


Wow….another accomplishment for my blog before the year ends. My blog here is now home to 1500 blog posts as this is my 1500th post. That’s a huge amount of posts considering the blog is only about 6 years old and everything is mostly written and fully composed by myself as the single author here. I’m very happy of course, as months ago, I have already targeted to get over 1500 mark before the end of the year. And now it does, on today, just few days before 2014 ends.

1500

I would like to intercept this post with my blessing and sympathy to the people and areas affected by the current on-going flood in several states in Peninsular Malaysia. As of today, over 100 000 people were evacuated as the water level didn’t recede and countless damages were reported. It is the worst flood tragedy in Malaysia in recent years. I hope everything would be fine soon over there. But wait…you don’t need to cancel all the upcoming new year countdown and firework events just to show respect to the affected people. You can still maintain those already planned events and at the same time organize prayer sessions for them. Does that mean I have no new year fireworks (even from KLCC) to enjoy when the clock soon ticks at 12 am to welcome 2015? That’s bad. This year is already not very good for Malaysia, and why don’t we choose to end the year with a bang. At least we can end it great as a positive sign for good things to come next year.

Well, let’s move on to my short movie review for the latest and the third film in ‘Night at the Museum’ franchise. It’s entitled ‘Secret of the Tomb’. It is also one of the last few films for Robin Williams, whom passed away due to suicide in August this year. He is such a talented actor, which can be seen from his role here as the wax for US President Theodore Roosevelt. In this third installment, Larry, the night guard had to travel to British Museum to save the magic of the tablet that keeps museum exhibits alive at night when it started to decay. He continued his adventures from New York to London with the same witty characters and also some new ones.

night-at-the-museum-3

This is certainly a family movie. But it didn’t work out that well for me. But if you had watched the first two, you would not want to miss this one, which I believed may be the last of the franchise. I’m not excited or interested by the way the story goes. The only things I can get thrilled is the scene with the gigantic snake monster. That’s all. Others are all plain and feels ’empty’ for me. I have to agree that there are a lot of humorous moments that the film offered, but I never laughed at all throughout the whole movie. Just a small smile on my face for a few times. That’s it. I think the fun elements work better for small kids. I just felt nothing after watching it.

NightAtTheMuseum3_FinalTrailer

I think its movie trailer spoiled most of it and reduced my excitement for the movie. It’s still a good family movie especially in this Christmas season, and it’s good to kill off my leisure time. The characters are fun to watch, but in the end, I felt most of the things delivered in the film lacks the magic. Out of 10 points, I rate ‘Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb’ a total of 7.0 only.

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

Leave a Reply

