Halloween-themed post: Things I would want to have if I’m in a horror movie.


Tomorrow is the last day of the month, and that’s Halloween! Recently, I was being approached by someone from Man Crates through email. Man Crates is a company that ships gifts to boys in custom wooden crates that has to be opened with a crowbar. This is the first time I got to know of this company. They are looking for bloggers to share with readers on what items they would need (survival kits) if they are in a horror movie. This gives me an interesting idea of what to write in conjunction to this year’s Halloween. Sometimes, when I’m watching those horror films, I would also question myself what would I bring along when I’m in that particular situation (of a movie scene).

First of all, there are actually a lot of categories in horror films. There is slasher, supernatural, monster, zombie, virus, cannibal, etc. So, I’m going to narrow myself down to zombie apocalypse, of which we have seen many great films of this genre in the past years like ’30 Days of Night’, ’28 Days Later’, ’28 Weeks Later’, ‘I Am Legend’, ‘World War Z’, ‘Zombieland’, ‘REC/Quarantine’, etc (just to name a few). So, hereby are the three things that I seriously would love to have in the time of a zombie apocalypse;

1) Light. Very useful. Things would be too scary if you are in the dark. Make sure all rooms have their lights turned on and never go to the basement (ensure it is locked). Imagine that when you are in the dark, you can’t see a thing in front of you, and you have to walk to find a safe place (let’s say you are in a house)to hide or escape. I would have already freaked out in that situation, as zombie might suddenly pops out in front or worst, behind you. When you are in the dark, you could not also think or plan properly as your mind is overwhelmed by your fear and the darkness, hence the probability of you getting killed is higher. Have a torchlight with you all the time in case electricity is cut off. And remember, battery!

cropped-torch-light

2) Companion. There is no way that I want to be alone in a zombie apocalypse. I would seriously needs my family, or at least a friend or two (the more the better). It would be so much better when you have someone watching your back while you move on from a place to another. That’s much safer. They can even be the helping hands on escape or when killing the zombies. In such life-threatening situation, having trusted friends by your side is better as you may not know that some (loose friends) may even sacrifice or push you to death first if they need to.

3) Weapon. If you have no weapon, you would be dead in no time. For the most suitable weapon, I would say sword. Sword is long and light. When you are attacking a zombie with a sword, you are not in a close distance with them, hence the chance of you getting hurt by zombie is reduced. You can even slash them off to pieces so that you wouldn’t have the worry of them resurrecting back again. You know….just in case….but, why not gun? Sometimes, zombies couldn’t be killed with bullets. I guess you have to hit them on certain areas for death shot but that’s very hard for us. We are not cops; we don’t shoot right on target easily.

dsc_3564

That’s it. That’s my first three items that I thought off if I’m in a zombie apocalypse, especially when I’m in a house but it has already been breached by those ugly-looking flesh-eating zombies. There are many other things I would need too that would come in handy in such situation, but those three listed above are my priority. What’s your three items then? If you are still scratching your head not knowing of what to write in your blog in conjunction with the coming Halloween, then take this task. It’s interesting and I have just done it. It’s fun.

happy-halloween

Anyway, Happy Halloween!

(Images in this post are from various sources throughout the world wide web)

One Response to “Halloween-themed post: Things I would want to have if I’m in a horror movie.”

  1. cool, i might just do this as well then! 😀 lol, i never found zombies to be scary until i watched Zombie Land. funny movie! but, always thought zombies to be slow-moving..

Leave a Reply

