Last day of CNY festival already? Couldn’t believe it.


Chinese New Year festival is celebrated on the first fifteen days of lunar year. And, today is the last day of this very joyful new year celebration. That means after this day, we would not be receiving any angpows anymore (so sad), no more yee sang to toss, and our new year mode would have to be officially turned off. Ahh….two weeks of Chinese New Year festival is gone! I couldn’t believe it. It’s too fast. I haven’t even watch a single lion dance performance this year.

shutterstock_948318-SMALL

 

(Image source: http://www.cantonteaco.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/shutterstock_948318-SMALL.jpg)

But I know why I find it too fast. I had been outstation two days before Chinese New Year. Then, I only came back to Malaysia on the 9th day of Chinese New Year, which leaves me only another 6 days to celebrate (on the later part of this festival which isn’t anything festive already). Furthermore, there isn’t any more public holiday to enjoy and so we have to get back to work immediately. Hence, there isn’t any time for me to actually celebrate this major festival to the Chinese. I have not visited any relatives or neighbours, but still I do get some angpows (very little). It’s like there is no Chinese New Year for me at all!

It’s the last day of CNY festival, and so I wish everyone Happy Chap Goh Meh! Today is Sunday and everyone is free. Let’s enjoy this last day of CNY festival happily! If not, you have to wait for the next lunar new year in 2014 when year of horse arrives. For me, I’m feeling not very well these few days due to stomachache, nausea and diarrhea. So, I think on this Chap Goh Meh, I couldn’t enjoy it much also. Too bad. I already knew that this year of snake (2013) isn’t very good to those people born in year of goat (me), but I never predicted that it affects my health as early as this already.

Hope everything would be fine for me in the following days. I have also followed my family yesterday to involve in some kind of rituals to ‘change luck’, attended by over thousand of people. The ritual is fast, but it took us two hours to wait for all of the monks to arrive. Hope that the rituals work, eventhough I don’t really believe on such thing. I will just follow now and see. Happy Chap Goh Meh once again!

Leave a Reply

