A longer weekend to enjoy…and Selamat Hari Raya Haji to all Muslims friends.


Selamat Hari Raya Haji to all my Muslim friends! Eid Mubarak! (ahha..it’s good to know, respect and learn more from other religions as well, and so that’s the benefit of being a Malaysian as we are in a peaceful multi-racial country) It’s a big festival for my Muslim friends, and so I would take this opportunity to dedicate this post as my greeting of this festival to them.

(Image above is from http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-IN2KaukA0iA/TraI8wAQriI/AAAAAAAABJI/aT9NmQSOqJ0/s1600/hari+raya+haji+2011.jpg)

This year, the day falls on Friday which is perfect as we all would enjoy a longer break this weekend. As expected, it is reported that major roads and highways are congested beginning the past afternoon as many are taking this opportunity to return to hometown particularly Malays when they would celebrate this festival preferably at hometown. For the others, some would take this break for a short holiday elsewhere while some prefer just to stay and rest at home. Money issue forced me to pick the latter choice as staying at home would prevent myself from going out which usually spends money.

This week appears to went off pretty quick for me. I went to Johor on Tuesday and returned the next day for an urgent working matter. Hence, I’m only in the office on Monday, Tuesday and yesterday (Thursday) for this week. Today, Friday is the day for Hari Raya Haji and so it’s public holiday. Lovely…everyone loves public holiday. And one good thing living in Malaysia is that there are quite a number of public holidays over here as we have different races here and so we have multiple festivals from each main religions. Wait…when is the next public holiday? Only two weeks from now when we would observe Deepavali and Awal Muharam. Then, Christmas and New Year…after that Chinese New Year…wao…looking too far already…

It’s always raining nowadays, and so I find it’s better to stay indoor (at home). Home is always the most comfortable place. For the Malays, tomorrow is a big day for them to gather at mosque for praying and ceremonial processions. Yesterday, my employer allowed us to leave work half an hour earlier. Good! We all were already in holiday mood earlier. Haha…that also helped me to avoid traffic congestion which would gets much troublesome later. He also recommends my other Muslim colleagues to visit the Steel Mosque at Putrajaya tomorrow for its breathtaking architecture. I myself had visited the mosque before but didn’t get to enter the building. But looking from outside the building already amazed me, enhanced with picturesque setting of the surrounding backdrop of Putrajaya, the garden city of Malaysia.

Last but not least, I would like to wish to all Muslims particularly my friends and my colleagues, Selamat Hari Raya Aidiladha! May you enjoy the festival with your loved ones and happy holiday as well! Monday, don’t come so fast please!…

2 Responses to “A longer weekend to enjoy…and Selamat Hari Raya Haji to all Muslims friends.”

  1. My brother recommended I might like this blog.

    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.
    You can not imagine simply how much time I had
    spent for this information! Thanks!

  2. Hi, I do believe your web site may be having internet browser compatibility problems.
    When I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however,
    when opening in IE, it has some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with
    a quick heads up! Other than that, wonderful site!

Leave a Reply

