The century’s second and last solar transit of Venus occured today


The next time you see this phenomena would be on the year 2117 which is 105 years from now. That is impossible. No one could live that long to witness twice of this phenomena. If you missed it today, then there is no more opportunity to see that again in your lifetime. I myself missed this spectacular phenomena as I’m seriously busy with my work today in my office with windows all closed off from the heat of the Sun by plenty of curtains. Haha…furthermore, my seat doesn’t face the Sun, so I couldn’t see it today. Ahh…regret for missing that moment…Previously, this phenomena occured on June 8th, 2004, around eight years ago.

Transits of Venus are among the rarest of predictable astronomical phenomena. They occur in a pattern that repeats every 243 years, with pairs of transits eight years apart separated by long gaps of 121.5 years and 105.5 years. This transit of Venus across the Sun takes place when the planet Venus passes directly between the Sun and Earth, becoming visible against (and hence obscuring a small portion of) the solar disk. During a transit, Venus can be seen from Earth as a small black disk moving across the face of the Sun. The duration of such transits is usually measured in hours (the transit of 2012 lasted 6 hours and 40 minutes).

I would never be able to see that once more. The next time planet Venus makes its transit across the Sun and visible from the Earth, I would be 136 years old. Wah, no one could live that old. If I live until that particular age, then I will be the oldest living person in the world. So, I missed this once-in-a-lifetime phenomena. Some people would not even had the chance to see it once if their duration of living goes within the 105 years gap of the solar transit of Venus. So, this generation (our current generation) is lucky enough to have the opportunity to witness it. But it’s nothing really that special actually. It is not like alien landing on our planet which would be shocking to the whole world.

Eventhough I didn’t get to see it, but I saw an image from The Star Online showing the phenomena that occured today, on this day memorable to people on astrological field. It’s a wonderful image that captures the phenomena at the right moment. Well, even if I had the chance to see it today, I think I would not be able to see it also in the afternoon because the sunlight is too glaring over here and would be hurting my eyes if I concentrate to spot the black mark which is the planet Venus itself. That is not a big black mark, it’s only a tiny small mark. So, it’s hard to see from our naked eyes. You have to use special glasses to see it. The phenomena appears more like a small mole over the giant Sun.

Leave a Reply

