Movie review: Man On A Ledge (2012)


Forget about majority of the reviews given to this film which are not really good. The film ‘Man on a Ledge’ receives quite a poor rating and mostly negative reviews from movie critics. At first, I don’t have the intention to watch this film looking at the poor rating it has, but after I read the plot of the film, I am interested. Well, after watching the film just now, I have nothing to say but thinking that those bad responses over this film are so wrong. This is indeed such a good film. A good film that has not been given much attention after its release early this year.

The story focuses on the man on a ledge, named Nick, ready to commit suicide on a ledge high above the city of New York. But things are more to a merely suicide attempt. Nick, who is an ex-cop is framed by a wealthy businessman (David) and was sent to jail for stealing the diamond in which he didn’t do so. It was all David’s plan to get insurance claim for the loss of his diamond which is still on his possession. Nick sorted out a plan, by stepping out on a ledge to pretend that he is going to commit suicide to divert the public’s attention to him while his brother, Joey and Joey’s girlfriend, Lydia went on their mission to steal the diamond across to prove that Nick is innocent.

Well, the story isn’t complicated and I like how the story flows throughout the whole film. There is also a substantial amount of character development (not too much and not too little, the amount is just right), especially to Nick, the main character, the one on the ledge, portrayed by Sam Worthington. I have seen him previously in ‘Wrath of the Titans’ and I think he did a pretty good job over here as well. He did show some true and realistic performance as his position in most portion of the story is on the narrow and dangerous ledge high above the ground. The other characters complement well in overall too.

I am certainly interested and impressed over the idea used for this film, focusing on the man on a ledge (hence comes the title of the film) while there is something else going on that leads up to a very intense climax and conclusion in the end. This is something new and exciting to watch. The credit is on the distraction idea used to ensure the deception task is smooth on the other hand (this is even expressed on the tagline on the movie poster shown above). The plot and the flow of the story is very engaging and I paid my full attention watching the whole film from the beginning till the end, being so curious to know what’s going to happen next. This is good actually. It draws my attention, and the climax is quite intensifying. I am thrilled over some scenes, especially the one when Nick really jumped off to the ground, falling over to the air-mattress so he can reach to the evil businessman in the end and snatch the diamond out of him and reveal it to the public and the media. Oopps…sorry for a bit of spoiler here.

Well, I can say that some parts are quite draggy in the middle. But I think that’s the intention of the story as well; to delay things so that the people across the building can do the things as planned to save Nick in the end. Well, I won’t reveal much here…if not, there would be much spoiler. That part came and went off quite fast, and attention is diverted back to the intense plan. There is also some sort of surprising twist to the story, and I like how it occurs in the story without any awkwardness in it. The ending is a good one too. So, overall, there is nothing seriously bad for this film. Of course I have to agree that this movie came with a very good idea but ended up accompanied by lazy script and not-so-good acting performance. But I’m actually okay with the weaknesses it had.

It is beyond than the level of only worth-watching, as this film even has the potential to be on Oscars if there are some little improvements over here and there. Finally, I can say ‘Man on a Ledge’ is an interesting and thrilling film not to be missed this year. This film is serious yet entertaining. There is no funny things or hilarious scenes going around, and that is not needed to make it a success anyway. This movie is not received well even in box office, but you have to give it a chance to really check out the good thing about it. It’s definitely more than just a man on a ledge. Trust me. Out of 10 points, I rate the film 7.8. A very good rating compared to the others. Well, it’s my view, and I have provided a major movie review for this film over here.

5 Responses to “Movie review: Man On A Ledge (2012)”

  1. […] it has, but after I read the plot of the film, I am … … Read the original post: Movie review: Man On A Ledge (2012) « It's My Blog City…'Vincent … ← Thoughts of a SteelMonster: Film Review: TRANSFORMERS: DARK […]

  2. Fiona Brackbill Says:

    i love the movie man on a ledge, there is really some drama on that movie.;

    Our very own blog site
    http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/corset-wedding-dresses/

  3. What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this web page, and post is really fruitful in support of me, keep up posting
    these articles.

  4. My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong
    none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a variety of websites
    for about a year and am worried about switching to another
    platform. I have heard good things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content
    into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

