It’s Teacher’s Day in Malaysia…did your school celebrate this day with special event organized in dedication to the teachers?


I have written before post of appreciation during Mother’s Day or Father’s Day but never a single post in dedication to the teachers. Yesterday, I get to know that Teacher’s Day falls the next day (today) from a radio station when there is a programme that answered calls from students and teachers regarding this. Previously, I never remember the actual date of Teacher’s Day. This year, I got it; 16th May for Teacher’s Day celebrated in Malaysia.

I had a bit of research on Teacher’s Day celebration and I found out that this day is observed on different dates depending on the countries’ decision. However, the World Teacher’s Day recognized by UNESCO is celebrated all across the world only by October 5th, and not May 16th in Malaysia. Why our country choose to be different? There is a reason for choosing 16th May. It is because that on the same day in 1956, the Razak Report is endorsed, one of four reports of the Education Committee regarding education in Malaysia. The document, known after Tun Abdul Razak (former Prime Minister) who was Education Minister at the time, has been the basis of education in Malaysia ever since. Although it is not an official school holiday, celebrations are usually held.

Now, I missed those days when I was a secondary school student, attending special event organized in conjunction with Teacher’s Day celebration held at the school field. There would be a stage set up, with chairs sheltered by canopies arranged for the teachers and VIP attending. Students would be then gathered all around the terrace, watching performances like singing, dancing, drama-sketch, awards presentation to the teachers who have served for a long number of years and those who had 100% attendance in previous year. It is nice to have such interesting day every year apart from boring normal schooling days. On the other hand, I still remember that we love to make fun and tries to mimic those iconic personalities of some teachers in our school when there is a free time.

Here, I would like to wish Happy Teacher’s Day to all the teachers who have taught me before, as well as even to all my university lecturers. I have never personally say thanks to them for their dedication and service to us, and so I would take this opportunity to thank them. Hope it is not too late. I believe their hard works on lecturing and guiding us through our education should be noted and appreciated eventhough they get paid for the job. Now, I kind of having a feeling or desire to meet back some of my former teachers. They must be very proud and happy that their former students (us) are now in successful path after their contribution in the past that would be never forgotten. Happy Teacher’s Day once again, to all the dedicated teachers in Malaysia!

9 Responses to “It’s Teacher’s Day in Malaysia…did your school celebrate this day with special event organized in dedication to the teachers?”

  1. Thanks for this excellent article. Yet another thing to mention
    is that the majority of digital cameras come equipped with a new zoom lens that permits more
    or less of a scene to be included by means of ‘zooming’ in and out. Most of these changes in focusing length tend to be reflected inside viewfinder and on substantial display screen right at the back of any camera.

  2. very nice

  3. pratap singh Says:

    very good article with picture . my teachers become happy when they see this. thanks a lot for this article.

  4. It was brilliant card and amazing article i like it and want publish it

  5. Thanks for such good article.

  6. Thanks my teachers. Happy teacher’s day

  7. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a
    comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same
    comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me from
    that service? Appreciate it!

  8. cuteeeeeeeeeee

Leave a Reply

