Movie review: Battleship (2012)


‘Battleship’ is one of my most anticipated films of the year after I have first watched its trailer few months ago. Finally, I get to watch it today after it has been released to the cinema many days already. ‘Battleship’ is a science-fiction naval war film, not against a particular country but on a group of extra-terrestrial robotic ships coming down to the sea from a planet far far away that the Earth is trying to communicate with. Ahh, I’m glad this movie is released earlier in Malaysia as it is supposed to be released in United States on May.

Boom…Boom…Boom! I hear a lot of gigantic explosions from this film! Those explosions and firing scenes from this film are epic! That is the single aspect throughout the entire film that worked well, and brings the movie to quite a success. It’s really very exciting seeing those ships either of the navy or of the alien ships exploding after being hit by multiple attacks. It ‘hits’ the audiences and got us concentrated on the battle once it is started.

Yes, the climax started once the battle began. The beginning part that emphasizes on characters’ development was quite boring. I keep waiting for the battle to comes which looks very promising even from its trailer already. Ahh, I am not disappointed. The battle which covers almost three quarters of the whole film really impressed me. The state-of-the-art stunning visual and seamless CGI effects are very amazing and made everything looks very realistic eventhough I believe some explosions are a bit too exaggerated, but I like it. The volume is very high, but it actually adds to the excitement further.

The actor who portrayed as the main character, Alex Hooper in this film performed quite well in the film. Same goes to others. Ahh, wait..the lead actor is Taylor Kitsch…he looks better in short hair on this film than his previous appearance in long hair on ‘John Carter’. However, as for Rihanna, a famous singer nowadays whom made her debut into film appearance on this, I finds she could not fit well into the whole thing. She would be better if remained only in singing career. I finds the movie goes weird whenever she was there in the midst of many breathtaking scenes. Well, the plot is quite straightforward which made the whole story easy to understand, but I detected some plotholes…but I’m sure people going in there for this movie with their mind mostly on the extreme firing and exploding scenes only.

Sorry to Michael Bay. There is someone out there who could challenge you easily on producing this kind of robotic battle in film. Out of 10 points, I rate this movie a total of 7.6. An extreme and explosive movie of 2 hours long that would certainly satisfies people who like this sort of theme. You would certainly be overwhelmed once the battle begins! This movie reminded me of ‘Pearl Harbour’, another movie many years ago, but this one is far better when comparing on the quality of the battle shown. Now, I wish to watch the battle from this ‘Battleship’ again!

I was reminded by the Google Doodle that today is the Earth Day


April 22 every year is designated as Earth Day by United Nations. Today is April 22, and hence today is the Earth Day with events to be held worldwide to increase awareness and appreciation of the Earth’s natural environment. Some communities even expanded the significance of the Earth Day by turning it into Earth Week so that more activities focusing on environmental issues can be held. But WWF (World Wildlife Foundation) on the other hand shrinks the intention into an hour from the Earth Hour movement which turned out to be quite a success with its higher popularity. Anyway, all has the same intention, same objective…which is to keep us aware that we should protect and love our Earth. (Image below from http://wallpapers.dgreetings.com/earth/800_1.htm)

It’s definitely not as popular as the Earth Hour movement, celebrated just last month ago. Earth Hour is pretty much commercialized, and so more people are supporting that global movement. Not everyone would notice that today is the Earth Day, including me myself, but thanks to the Google Doodle today which is designed in dedication to the Earth Day, I was reminded of the day. The Google Doodle showing an animated visual of some kind of flowers or plants blossoming or growing over the ground is quite creative.

What are some of the events held today in Malaysia in support of Earth Day? I think there are some, but since I didn’t go outdoor often lately and I seldom buy newspapers to read anymore (depending on online news portal for that), I didn’t had the chance to get informed of those events. But I think those events in Malaysia would be still in very small scale and less attended as typical Malaysians won’t get excited or pretty much interested on such things. I myself would take this day just like an ordinary Sunday, but I would follows the intention desired from Earth Day or Earth Hour by doing my part on saving the environment not on that particular hour, or in a single day only, but on everyday as long as I live on this lovely planet.

When I searched a bit on this Earth Day’s background, I found that there is an anthem produced for Earth Day with melody of ‘Ode to Joy’ from the famous musician, Ludwig van Beethoven. There is the lyric of the song below:

Joyful joyful we adore our Earth in all its wonderment
Simple gifts of nature that all join into a paradise
Now we must resolve to protect her
Show her our love through out all time
With our gentle hand and touch
We make our home a newborn world
Now we must resolve to protect her
Show her our love through out all time
With our gentle hand and touch
We make our home a newborn world

(Image above from http://www.9ori.com/en/photos/4314.html)

….Happy Earth Day 2012! Or let’s make everyday as Earth Day, so our care and love to this planet would continue everyday and go beyond boundary.