Record-breaking number of films in 2011 that I have watched…


I also couldn’t believe it. Despite having the busiest year for my study, I have had still spent quite a lot of time on movies released this year. That definitely shows that movies is the main source of entertainment for me throughout the year when I was getting pressure from my study on this final year. Just like last year, I would list down the films released in 2011 that I have watched, and check out the total counts.

Hollywood Films (United States and United Kingdom)

# There are over 100 films released this year, with this year having the most sequels released. The films in bold are my top ten favourites, while the mark at the side indicates the overall point I’m giving to the respective film, with the maximum of five.

1. The Green Hornet ***

2. No Strings Attached ***

3. The Roommate ***

4. Sanctum ***

5. Gnomeo and Juliet ***

6. Justin Bieber: Never Say Never ***

7. The Adjustment Bureau ****

8. Rango ***

9. Battle: Los Angeles ***

10.  Paul ****

11. Hop ***

12. Source Code *****

13. Hanna ***

14. Rio ****

15. Scream 4 ****

16. Fast Five ****

17. Thor ***

18. Priest ***

19. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides ****

20. Kung Fu Panda 2 ****

21. X-Men: First Class *****

22. Super 8 ****

23. Mr. Popper’s Penguins ***

24. Transformers: Dark of the Moon ****

25. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 ****

26. Captain America: The First Avenger ***

27. Cowboys and Aliens ***

28. The Smurfs ***

29. Attack the Block ****

30. Rise of the Planet of the Apes *****

31. Final Destination 5 ****

32. 30 Minutes or Less ***

33. Shark Night 3D ***

34. Contagion ***

35. Real Steel *****

36. The Human Centipede 2 (Full Sequence) ***

37. Johnny English Reborn *****

38. Immortals ***

39. Arthur Christmas ****

40. The Adventures of Tintin ****

41. Puss in Boots ***

42. The Muppets ****

43. Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol ****

44. The Darkest Hour ****

45. Spy Kids 4: All The Time In The World ***

46. The Thing ****

47. Green Lantern ****

48. Hostel: Part 3 ****

49. In Time ****

50. I Am Number Four ***

51. Tower Heist ***

52. Apollo 18 ***

53. Quarantine 2: Terminal ****

54. Metal Tornado *

55. Dylan Dog: Dead of Night ***

56. Jack and Jill **

57. Mars Needs Mom ****

Hong Kong Films

# This year I have watched less number of Hong Kong films, because I find the direction these films going on can’t get away from martial arts, gangsterism and uniform bodies in operations. I watched mostly the Chinese New Year themed Hong Kong films which are funny and interesting. The films in bold are my top three favourites, while the mark at the side indicates the overall point I’m giving to the respective film, with the maximum of five.

1. All’s Well, Ends Well 2011 ***

2. Choy Lee Fut ***

3. I Love Hong Kong *****

4. Love is the Only Answer ****

5. Men Suddenly in Love ***

6. Mr. and Mrs. Incredible ****

7. Treasure Hunt ***

8. East Meets West ***

Taiwanese Film

# I have watched a single Taiwanese film released in 2011, and for that film, I watched it in year 2012. That is already incredible because I seldom watch Taiwanese film, unless that film is so well-received until I get to know about it. The mark at the side indicates the overall point I’m giving to the respective film, with the maximum of five.

1. You Are The Apple Of My Eye *****

Malaysia Film

# As usual, in every year, I would only watch a single Malaysian film, but this year is an exception. Ahh…I skipped the ‘Great Day’ which is the Chinese New Year movie of the year in collaboration between MY FM and ASTRO, but I had another two to fill in the space here. The mark at the side indicates the overall point I’m giving to the respective film, with the maximum of five.

1. Nasi Lemak 2.0 ****

2. Sea Level ***

So, after a simple calculation, as of current, the number of films released in 2011 that I have watched is 68. Last year, I have watched a total of 50 films exactly, and for this year, as of current, I have watched extra 18 more. That’s quite A LOT MORE! This is also the year when I watched a film twice in cinema, not only a movie, but five movies (Final Destination 5, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol, Johnny English Reborn, I Love Hong Kong). That means that these movies are really good and worth watching twice or more!

You can actually find the movie review for each movies I have watched (listed above) in my blog here. Yeah, so now you know how many movie reviews of the year I have written! (That’s a lot!)

For next year in 2012, there are several films in my list for must-watch like The Avengers, Piranha 3DD, The Amazing Spiderman, The Dark Knight Rises, and even the re-release of the most epic film of our generation; Titanic in 3D to claim back its fame as the world highest grossing film over from Avatar.

(Post updated on March 2013)

Leave a Reply

