Happy Mid-Autumn Festival.


Happy Mid-Autumn Festival! Happy Mooncake Festival! Happy Lantern Festival! It’s the same festival anyway (just with many different names given to it) that falls on the 15th day of the 8th lunar month in Chinese calendar. It falls during a full moon, and it is an important festival celebrated by the Chinese (also by Vietnamese, Japanese and Koreans) across the world.

Mooncake Festival SL

(Image source: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/)

For this festival, I have bought a box of mooncakes for my family, but it is me that ate the most as I love mooncakes a lot. Furthermore, we can only have the chance to eat it once a year. So, no matter how expensive the mooncakes are, I would still buy. It is the tradition of eating mooncakes in conjunction with this festival. In past years, we would usually buy from Kam Lun Tai, but this time we go for Tai Thong brand instead. We were bored of Kam Lun Tai already and their mooncakes are quite oily and didn’t taste so good anymore. Tai Thong’s ones taste better. I have bought a snow skin with lotus paste (my favourite), snow skin with durian flavour (also my favourite), mixed fruits and nuts (my dad’s favourite, this one specially for him) and the original lotus paste. We don’t fancy those new unique flavours like black sesame, dragon-fruit, red-bean, chocolate, green tea, etc. We still stay loyal to the original style.

mid-autumn-wp4

(Image source: http://miuiandroid.com/)

I also bought some lanterns and candles for my two young nephews to play. They played lanterns while me and my sister played candles, pretending to be children. Haha…But I find children nowadays didn’t have that high desire or interest to play candles and lanterns anymore. They would prefer to stick to their parents’ I-phones, mini-tablets, I-pads, etc. Hmm…Different generations. Last time when we were kids, we were so excited when Mid-Autumn Festival is approaching, so that we can play candles, lanterns and burn up things (fun but not advised to do so). Now, the kids just couldn’t run away from the immense effect of technology just like the adults.

Let’s hope that the traditions of having mooncakes, candles, lanterns and family reunion are not forgotten especially during major celebration like this Mid-Autumn Festival. Remember our roots and pass it on to our future generations. Last but not least, here I would like wish a Happy Mid-Autumn Festival (or whatever you call it as) to all Chinese! Enjoy.